Wildcat by JP Harker // a very enjoyable novel with an impressive amount of research

Today I’ll be reviewing Wildcat by JP Harker! I recently finished it and I found it enjoyable. So without further ado, let’s just get started.

31943639Goodreads blurb:

Rhianwyn of the Caderyn is conflicted about giving up a warrior’s life to become a wife and mother, but her love for her new husband is enough to at least make her consider it. However, with the conquering Gaians moving ever closer to her homeland a peaceful life may no longer be an option, for Rhia or for any of her people. With rival tribes, old suitors, and the dangerous General Lepidus to contend with, Rhia soon finds her new family in unprecedented danger, and her choices now must be about more than just herself…

Wildcat takes place in a fantasy land inspired by Iron Age Britain and follows Rhianwyn’s story as she encounters a civilisation unlike any she could imagine, and is constantly forced to learn and adapt through trial after deadly trial.


This book was sent to me for review by the author, but that in no way changes my honest opinion.


It took me a while to get through this book, but that is because there is some much in it in terms of plot. So I definitely don’t think it is a bad thing. This book takes place over the course of about six years and a lot happens in that time. The plot was very entertaining and it definitely kept me interested. I wasn’t bored at any time even though the book is on the lenghty-er side. The plot reminded me of Outlander, in a ‘slice of life with an overarching plot’ kind of way, but I even think this novel was better.


The fact that there was a lot of plot in the book didn’t take away from the characters. The main character Rhia – or Rhianwyn – was very well-rounded. She wasn’t perfect and I was glad about it. The flaws felt real, if you get what I mean. Rhia has to process a lot and thus has a lot of grief and I think it was written fantastically. The hurt, the shame, the guilt, the fear, the anger, it was all so realistic. I really felt for her. She was a very strong character. I liked Marius, Rhia’s husband. He was caring and would do anything for his family. He was courageous and he stood for what was right. I might have wanted some more development on him though. Lucan I was a fan of.


I was really impressed by the amount of research the author did, like really impressed. Every detail seemed right. Yet that knowledge wasn’t showed off in big info-dumps, but instead was woven into the story very well.


I just want to mention two more things. Firstly, I really liked the cover. The design is done very well. This could have been a book I picked up in a bookstore. Since this is a self-published book, I do think that is an important thing to note. The cover is professional.

And secondly I also want to mention how friendly the author was. My interactions with him were very pleasant. I know this doesn’t have anything to do with the story though.


Overall, I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. I would recommend it! I hope you enjoyed this post. Thanks for reading and see you next time!

Love,

eva 2.0

5 thoughts on “Wildcat by JP Harker // a very enjoyable novel with an impressive amount of research

  1. Pingback: December Wrap-up! // the most festive month of the year | Brilliantly bookish

  2. Pingback: My reading year 2017 // an overview, stats, opinions and more! | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: 2018 Bookshelf Tour! | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a comment