The New York Times “By The Book” Tag

I was tagged by the awesome Lauren over at My Paper Infinity to do this tag and I’m excited! Personally, I don’t read the New York Times, but I don’t think I need to to answer these questions. So without further ado, let’s get started!afbeelding1

28445961What book is on your nightstand now?

On my nightstand I always have the book that I’m currently reading. At the moment that’s Suikerkind by Olga Gromova. It hasn’t been translated to English yet. This is the story of a very young girl from Russia that has to go to a work-camp in Kyrgyzstan with her mother.  Her father was arrested and send far away to somewhere in Siberia. It’s set in the 1930’s. I’m about halfway through now. I’ll update you on my thoughts near he end of the month.

28648863What was the last truly great book you’ve read?

The last book I gave the full five stars is Juliet takes a Breath by Gaby Rivera. This novel is absolutely amazing! I loved it from the first sentence ’till the last. It deals with topics as feminism, diversity, racism, intersectionality, etc. in such fantastic ways. Everyone should read it. The characters are awesome too. I really loved the main character Juliet. She was funny and very real. Her voice made the book so much better. She’s a Puerto Rican lesbian by the way. I have also reviewed this book! You can find it here.

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

This is a hard question! There are several authors I would love to meet. If I have to choose one though, I think I’d go for Becky Albertalli. I simply adore Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda and I love The Upside of Unrequited too! I’d love to chat about those books with her.

I’d also love to meet Rick Riordan, Gaby Rivera, Angie Thomas, Marissa Meyer, Suzanne Collins, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, David Arnold or Jandy Nelson. They are all amazing authors!

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

I have a really old copy of Snow White on my shelves. It used to belong to my granddad before he gifted it to me. I don’t know how old it is exactly, but it’s from my granddad’s childhood. So it must be from the 1930’s. Pretty old, huh?

We also have a really old bind-up from a magazine that was published around 1920. It’s a fashion magazine and I think it’s absolutely beautiful.

How do you organize your personal library?

By the colours of the spine, in rainbow order! I think it’s absolutely gorgeous. You can find my bookshelf tour here!

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?

That would include most classics. I haven’t read many, but I’m slowly but surely reading more of them. As for YA books I’m giving you a few answers:

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell and Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy. I had high expectations for all three of these yet sadly I didn’t like them.

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I read mainly YA books from almost any genre except horror. I just don’t like to be scared.

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

Well, I’m from Belgium so I have a King and a Parliament. So I guess I’ll skip this question as I have no idea what I would recommend to King Filip.

What do you plan to read next?

Next, I’m reading either Babel by Jan De Leeuw for Dutch class, Le professeur a disparu by Jean-Phillippe Arrou-Vignod for French or Aaru by David Meredith, a review copy for this blog. I don’t know yet.


afbeelding2Kirsty@ Kirsty’s Book Reviews

The Royal Polar Bear

Megs @ Between The Pages

Joana@Bookneeders

Kourtni@ Kourtni Reads


That’s all for today! I hope you enjoyed this post! Thanks for reading! See you next time!

Love,

eva 2.0

11 thoughts on “The New York Times “By The Book” Tag

  1. I loved reading your answers. That copy of Snow White is so beautiful. I haven’t seen anything like it before. And if I could persuade you to read any of the books you’ve mentioned, I’d tell you to pick up We Are the Ants first. It’s one of my all-time favourite contemporaries 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did not know you were from Belgium! Or I missed it ahah, sorry, hi neighbor 🙂
    I LOVE the list of authors you’d like to meet. I would love to meet Becky Albertalli just as well, Marissa Meyer, Angie Thomas, Jandy Nelson ❤
    I hope you'll be able to read Highly Illogical Behaviour soon, it was such a great book, I loved it. Same for Since You've Been Gone, but I'm a huge Morgan Matson fan ahah 🙂
    Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: September Wrap Up // School started and I got busy again | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

