I achieved my Goodreads goal! // an overview

This year I set myself the goal of reading 60 books and I’ve already achieved it! I’m so proud of myself! When I set the goal, I didn’t expect at all to reach it this soon. I thought it would be fun to go over all 60 of them and tell you what I thought!

January

january

Numbers by Rachel Ward // 3.5/ 5 stars It started out as an okay read, but got very emotional near the ending. I cried

Ignite me by Tahereh Mafi // 5/5 stars I was obsessed. I adored it. Easily my most favourite from the series.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas // 4/5 stars I enjoyed it. I really liked the MC, Celaena and the plot kept me entertained.

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater // 4/5 stars Definitely a step up from the first book. I highly enjoyed it. Ronan.

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon // 2/5 stars I didn’t like this. Too much info dumping. Boring. It took me ages to finish.

Le cinquième doigt by Richard De Boeck // 1/5 stars I hated this book. It’s extremely problematic. UGH.

February

february

Like No Other by Una LaMarche // 3/5 stars I enjoyed this. It was diverse and it talked about some important issues in a good way.

Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda // 5/5 stars I adored this book! It’s so fluffy and cute and it warms my heart. I love the characters. The book is funny and relatable. Definitely a favourite of mine.

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer // 4/5 stars I highly enjoyed this, although it’s my least favourite book of the Lunar Chronicles.

Le Cinquième Doigt by Richard De Boeck // 1/5 stars I was forced to re-read this. I hated it even more the second time.

The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan // 3/5 stars This was enjoyable. I loved the bookish vibe.

The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan // 4.5/5 stars I obviously loved it! It’s Rick Riordan. That equals a fun and adventurous plot, great twists on mythology, fantastic characters and laughing out loud. And this one is diverse too!

Not if I see you first by Eric Lindgren // 4/5 stars This was a very pleasant surprise. I liked reading from a very different perspective. I cried. I was disappointed by the ending though.

March

march

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas // 2/5 stars This was a massive disappointment. Nothing happened and it took me ages to read.

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas // 3/5 stars This was better the previous novel, but still only okay. I didn’t like the interactions between Celaena and Rowan.

Cress by Marissa Meyer // 5/5 stars I loved this. It’s my favourite from the Lunar Chronicles (tied with Winter).

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater // 4/5 stars I highly enjoyed this. I found it even better than the Dream Thieves. I just love the atmosphere of these books.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo // 4.5/5 stars I was kinda confused in the beginning, but ultimately I loved it. The characters, the constant suspense, not knowing what will happen,…

April

april

april 2.0

Winter by Marissa Meyer // 5/5 stars I loved this. It was the perfect conclusion to the main series.

Wonder by R. J. Palacio // 4/5 stars I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a very quick read that handled important topics in a magnificent way.

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy // 1/5 stars Massive disappointment. I did not like this book at all. I have several problems with it, so I’ll just direct you to my review if you want to know more.

Everything, everything by Nicola Yoon // 3/5 stars I highly enjoyed this book and I finished it very quickly. I recognise this book has problems though, so I took two stars of my rating for that.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry // 5/5 stars I loved this! It holds a lot of good memories for me. I get something else from it every time I read it.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater // 4/5 stars I highly enjoyed it. I like how it concluded the series. I still absolutely adore its atmosphere. And Gansey of course.

How to be A Bawse by Lilly Singh // 5/5 stars I loved this. It was most helpful, motivational and inspirational. Everyone could take something from it.

To All The Boys by Jenny Han // 3/5 stars This was kinda disappointing. I don’t ship Lara Jean and Peter nor Lara Jean and Josh. I liked Lara Jean’s sister Margot better than I liked her. Oops.

PS. I still love you by Jenny Han // 4/5 stars I liked this book better than the previous one although I wasn’t a big fan of the ending.

Maus I by Art Spiegelman // 3/5 stars I liked this. It felt very authentic.

Maus II by Art Spiegelman // 4/5 stars I liked this one better than the first.

The Selection by Kiera Cass // 4/5 stars I decided to re-read it since I loved it the first time around. I still really liked it.

May

may

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon // 5/5 stars This was a very slow read, but I highly enjoyed it.

I’ll Give you the sun by Jandy Nelson // 5/5 stars A re-read of one of my favourite books. I fell in love with the characters, the story and the beautiful writing all over again.

Ten Thousand skies above you by Claudia Gray // 4/5 stars I liked this sequel a lot more than the first. It took the story a lot further and it was less trope-y.

Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli // 5/5 stars Another re-read of one of my favourite books. I still absolutely adored it.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas // 4/5 stars I highly enjoyed this although it was rather slow in the beginning. It picked up so much near the end of the book.

June

june

june 2.0

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas // 5/5 stars I adored this! It was an instant favourite. I’m obsessed.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli // 4/5 stars I loved this. It was extremely relatable.

Animal Farm by George Orwell // 4/5 stars This took me ages to read. Incredible story though. The deeper meaning is done so well.

We Should All Be Feminist by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie // 5/5 stars I love the ideas in this book and I can definitely say I’m a feminist. Everyone should read this.

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas // 5/5 stars An awesome concluding novel to the series I’ve grown to adore. This was fabulous.

The Elite by Kiera Cass // 2.5/5 stars I regret re-reading this. I was very annoyed by the characters this time and I decided to DNF it so I wouldn’t further destroy my positive feelings toward this book.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins // 5/5 stars I loved re-reading this favourite of mine.

The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon // 5/5 stars I loved the fun and fluffy story, the diversity, the characters and the ending.

Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher // 3/5 stars I enjoyed this. It was the first story I’ve ever read told in only letters. I loved the MC’s sister Dot. I didn’t like the girl-on-girl hate and the very questionable behaviour of the MC though.

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley // 4/5 stars I loved this book with its amazing bookish vibe. I loved the writing style. This book simply made me happy.

July

july.png

july 2.0

july 3.0.png

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins // 5/5 stars Just as the Hunger Games, I loved re-reading this. It remains one of my all time favourite series.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas // 5/5 stars This dealt wonderfully with some hard but important topics. It was emotional, funny and relatable. New favourite.

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins // 5/5 stars Again, I loved re-reading this. It’s my least favourite in the trilogy, but I still love it.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer // 4.5/5 stars I loved this book all over again. I buddy read it with a bunch of fellow bloggers. It was great.

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold // 5/5 stars This was an amazing surprise. I adored it. I cried several times. I loved the characters, the plot and the amazing writing style. New favourite.

Persepolis Vol. 1 by Marjane Satrapi // 4/5 stars This was enjoyable. I learned a ton.

#Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso // 3/5 stars This was a disappointment because of my wrong expectations. I thought it would also be about life and not only about work. It wasn’t that helpful.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry // 5/5 stars I still loved it. As always I took something different from it than last time.

Persepolis Vol. 2 by Marjane Satrapi // 4/5 stars This was a great continuation of the story. I enjoyed it and I learned from it.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Jim Kay and Siobhan Dowd // 5/5 stars I straight up sobbed. This was so emotional. The monster was different from what I expected, but even better. The illustrations were perfect and added so much to the story.

Mao’s Mussen by Dirk-Jan Hoek // 3/5 stars Very simple and enjoyable story, but kind of forgettable. It was super quick and perfect for the read-a-thon I was participating in.

Persepolis Vol. 3 by Marjane Satrapi // 3.5/5 stars I enjoyed this less than the previous two. It’s my least favourite in the series.

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus // 4/5 stars I enjoyed it. I had an inkling of who the murderer was and I was right, although I only knew half of it.

Persepolis Vol. 4 by Marjane Satrapi // 4/5 stars Again, I enjoyed it and I learned from it. I would recommend these graphic novels.

Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli // 5/5 stars I adored it. It’s so swoon-worthy and cute. It makes me happy.

August

august.png

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo // 5/5 stars I loved this. It’s amazingly well constructed. The characters and plot are fabulous. I love slowly finding out the plans and trying to guess what Kaz’s next move will be.

Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples // 4/5 stars This was better than expected. I really enjoyed it.


And those are all the books I’ve read so far this year. I hope you enjoyed seeing a quick overview. For more in-depth thoughts you can check out my wrap up posts or my reviews. Thanks for reading! See you next time!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

22 thoughts on “I achieved my Goodreads goal! // an overview

  1. AMAZING! Wow, 60 books is what my initial goal was (but i surpasses and it changed to 100) Congratulations on all these amazing books. THUG was fantastic. I really enjoyed Ketchup Clouds for some reason? I read Numbers but it was very MEH for me. I got the Bone season from NetGalley and have tried to get into but NOPE.I feel the same way about Everything Everything! I’m so glad you enjoyed Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, they’re my faves! You read a LOT in July. I have One Of Us Is lying at home and I AM EXCITED! I straight up cried at a Monster Calls.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for including the issues with Everything, Everything – as a disabled reader it means a lot that you recognised the issues despite enjoying it! Also, well done on reaching your goal; I’m getting close to mine.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on completing your goal! I completed my 25 book goal back in June (I think) but I recently upped it to 50 books. I don’t know if I’ll meet the 50 books but let’s hope I do!!!
    I’ve been thinking about picking up Saga. I’ve heard good things and I could get it from the library so hopefully I’ll do that soon

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Princesses Read: Disney Princess Sidekicks Book Tag – Book Princess Reviews

  5. Congrats on hitting your goal already!! It looks like you’ve had an amazing year of reading so far!! I’ve been reading the Throne of Glass series and loving it, so I’m sad to see that it’s not your thing… but I really want to read the Court books!!! They sound amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

