July Wrap Up // Travel and favourite books

Another month has passed and here I am again writing a wrap up! This was a busy month for me and I have quite a few things to talk about, so without further ado, let’s get started!

readingThis month I’ve read a total of 15 books which I’m extremely happy with! Since I’m on holiday, I did expect to read more than normal, but still I’m very pleased with the amount of books I’ve read!

12510082Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (The Hunger Games #2)

Goodreads

I started the month with re-reading the second book in one of my favourite series. As I expected, I loved it. Either this book or the first one is my favourite, I’m not sure. This book has a lot more going on plot-wise, but the first book has more of the constant suspense. As always, this book was exciting and thrilling. The story gets me hooked each time. I gave it five out of five stars. Most of you have probably already read this, but if you haven’t I would highly recommend it!

32075671The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Goodreadsmy review

This book was amazing. It has become a new favourite of mine. It deals with hard, but very important topics in such a fantastic way. I definitely learned from it. The characters were awesome too and had depth to them. I really liked Starr as a main character. The family dynamics in this book were absolutely fabulous. They all care so much and they look out for each other. Their banter and family moments were great to read. This book was also very funny. It made me laugh out loud several times. I loved this book because it made me feel so much. It made me laugh, it made me choke up, it made me angry, etc. Easily five out of five stars!

12512617Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (The Hunger Games #3)

Goodreads

The next book I finished is the third and last installment in The Hunger Games trilogy, Mockingjay. I highly enjoyed re-reading this book, just as I enjoyed re-reading the previous two. This book is my least favourite out of the three, but I still loved it. Five out of five stars from me! I like the second part of this book a lot more than the first as it’s a lot more fast-paced. I flew through this book. Although this is a bit of an unpopular opinion, I do like the ending. I find it fitting that not everyone survives the war. That’s realistic. I’m very happy with this conclusion to the series that got me into reading as I now do!

11235712Cinder by Marissa Meyer ( The Lunar Chronicles #1)

Goodreadsmy review

Then I re-read Cinder, the first book in another one of my favourite series. It was our book of the month in a Goodreads group for YA bloggers that I’ve joined. I very much enjoyed reading this book and discussing it with a bunch of lovely people! I’m sad I won’t be able to join next month’s read. I loved revisiting the world and characters I’ve grown to love and I would highly recommend this series! I gave this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.

22466429Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Goodreads

I picked this book up in the car on our way home from Venice and I flew through it! I didn’t expect it, but I absolutely adored it! It has become a new favourite of mine. The story and the writing style are so beautiful, it’s simply a work of art. I loved the characters. It was very interesting to read from the POV of someone with the Moebius syndrome. I hadn’t heard of it before. This book was also very emotional, it made me cry several times. I definitely got some weird looks from the truckers in the restaurants at the side of the road when they saw my puffy eyes. I gave this book five out of five stars and I would highly recommend it! It’s such an underrated book!


Then I came home from my travels and I decided to participate in the Booktube-A-thon. These are all the books I finished during that last week!

18667945#Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso

Goodreads

I was disappointed by this book and that’s mainly because I had the wrong expectations. I expected this to be more like How to be a Bawse by Lilly Singh and thus talk about conquering life as well as conquering work. This book did get me motivated to work extra hard on some of my personal projects. I also learned a lot about business from it, but as a 15-year-old who isn’t allowed to work yet, I can’t do anything with that knowledge. I would recommend this book, but to someone who is older than me and wants to work. 3 out of 5 stars.

30366536Persepolis Vol. 1, 2, 3 & 4 by Marjane Satrapi

Goodreads

Then I read all four volumes of Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. I enjoyed them and I gave all of them 4 out of five stars. I don’t know which one is my favourite, but Vol. three is my least favourite. I learned a lot about things I knew close to nothing about and it was nice to read it from someone’s experience instead of in a textbook. I liked the simple art style. It was all in black and white and I could read all the text clearly. I find that sometimes I have a hard time trying to read the text in a graphic novel. I would definitely recommend this.

157993The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-ExupΓ©ry

Goodreads

Then I decided to re-read another favourite of mine, The Little Prince. I always enjoy this story whenever I read it. Everytime I get something different from it. I love this story not only because it’s beautiful, but also because it holds a sense of nostalgia. I grew up being read to and reading this book myself. We did a lot surrounding this book in school and I always look back on that when reading this book. If you haven’t read this book, please do. You will not regret it! I see myself re-reading this book ’till the end of my days.

8621462A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, Jim Kay and Siobhan Dowd

Goodreads

This book ripped my heart out. I straight up sobbed. That doesn’t happen often, but when it does, the book means something special to me. This book was just so raw and emotional. In a mere 215 pages it tells such a heart-breaking story. The monster wasn’t what I thought it would be, but it was even better. I liked Conor, the main character, and I definitely felt for him. The illustrations were absolutely stunning and fitted the story so well. They were a perfect addition to the story. I gave this book five out of five stars and I would most highly recommend it.

20687790Mao’s mussen by Dirk-Jan Hoek

Goodreads

This hasn’t been translated to English, but I’ve read it, so I’m talking about it anyway. This was a very quick read and thus perfect for the Booktube-A-Thon. The story was very simply, but still enjoyable. I liked the art style. It was completely black and white and again, the text was very clear. I didn’t have problems reading it. There wasn’t that much of it anyway and that’s what made it such a fast read. I took me a bit more than ten minutes. I wasn’t attached to the characters at all and to be honest this was kind of forgettable. I gave it three out of five stars.

32887579One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

Goodreads

It took me a while to get into the story and invested in the characters, but overall I found this very enjoyable. I liked the characters. They all had a lot of depth to them. I did have some trouble with Addy in the beginning. I found her a bit whiny and one-dimensional as she never seemed to have her own opinion. She quickly redeemed herself though and she went through a lot of character development. It’s even addressed in the book itself that she was like that in the beginning. As far as the murder mystery plot goes, I enjoyed it. It kept me guessing. I did figure out who did it, but I kept second-guessing myself and still I only knew half of it. I very much shipped the main ship in the book as well as Cooper’s relationship near the end of the book. A solid four out of five stars from me.

19547856Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Goodreadsmy review

Lastly, I decided to re-read another one of my favourite books, Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda. As always, I finished it in one day. This book is so fluffy and adorable and I ship Simon and Blue so so so much! It’s also so funny and relatable. I made me laugh out loud several times. This book holds beautiful quotes on important stuff such as diversity, but it also holds some amazingly hilarious references. I gave this book five out of five stars. Obviously. I would highly recommend it!


fycvhgbtuiybhyoiAnd that’s everything I read this month! It was a great month, not only quantity wise, but also quality wise. I’ve re-read some of my favourite books and I’ve found some new favourite books. It was fantastic.

My Goodreads goal for the year is almost completed! I’ve now finished 58 out of 60 books! That means I’m now 24 books ahead of schedule! I’m extremely happy with that. I’ll probably complete my Goodreads goal next month!

personalThis was a busy month for me. During the first three weeks I was travelling, which you can read about here, here and here. During the last week I participated in the Booktube-A-Thon. I had tons of fun doing that. It was awesome to read so much, film a few videos, chat to people about it, do some Twitter sprints, etc. I’ll definitely be participating next year!

on-the-blogFirst of all, I want to thank you all. My blog just hit 300 followers!! I’m so grateful. The thought that 300 people care enough about what I have to say to keep coming back amazes me. So a MASSIVE THANK YOU to everyone!!! You guys are awesome!

15879126_154592855028527_1619220621_n

On another note, I didn’t stick to my blogging schedule this month and I’m sad about that. I did post on Tuesdays and Sundays, but I didn’t post on Thursdays. It never seemed to work out. Since this still is a hobby of mine, I didn’t want to put too much pressure on myself to post and stay up late to do so.

Anyway, here is an overview of all the posts from July.

Reviews:

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley // my bookworm heart is happy

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas // Important, emotional and impactful

Tags:

Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

Travel:

My Eastern-European road trip // Travel

My Eastern-European road trip pt. 2 // Travel

My Eastern – European road trip pt. 3 // Travel

Self-love:

Be present // Self-love

Other:

June & July Book Haul // Random splurges and travel memories

Review policy & Ratings

My Booktube-A-Thon 2017 TBR

BTAT 2017 Day 1 // vlog + video challengeBTAT 2017 Day 1 // vlog + video challenge

The story behind my favourite books


So that’s it for this month’s recap! I hope you enjoyed reading this post! See you next time!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

9 thoughts on “July Wrap Up // Travel and favourite books

  1. You read so much more than me!!! So many books in one month, congrats!
    My friend and I recently gave another friend A Monster Calls for his birthday! He said he loved it but it was emotional. Have you seen the movie? It’s really good and just as emotional!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: August 2017 Bookshelf tour! | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: August Book Haul // I went a bit over the top | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

