The story behind my favourite books

Today I was in the mood to talk to you about me favourite books, so that’s what I’m doing. I decided I want to tell you guys the story of how I found these books, when and why I read them, etc. So let’s jump right in as I try to keep my fangirling to a minimum.If you’re interested, here is my Goodreads favourites shelf!

2767052The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Goodreads

This is the book that got me into reading YA and I’m most grateful for that. I was at a point that I was getting to old for the books I used to read and still to young for the adult ones. Then me brother kept recommending this to me and I finally picked it up and I loved it! It was so fast-paced and I finished it super quickly. The story and the characters were great. This book is about so much more, than just the fight to the death. It has a lot of underlying themes that definitely made me think about the society we live in, etc.

20820994I’ll give you the sun by Jandy Nelson

Goodreads

I picked this book up because of the cover. The blurb doesn’t give a lot away and I didn’t really know what it was about and if I was going to like it. I did though, I loved it. I fell in love with the writing style. It’s so lyrical and beautiful. Often times I found myself re-reading a sentence or paragraph simply for its beauty. I quickly grew to love the characters and their stories. This book is simply a work of art that made me want to make some art myself. I loved this book so much, both on the inside and on the outside, that I had to get my own copy.

The Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan

Goodreads

I’ve loved everything I’ve read by Rick Riordan, but The Heroes of Olympus series is my favourite. Three years ago, my Latin teacher recommend Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief to me and I knew from the first sentence I was going to love it. Since then I’ve read the entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, The Heroes of Olympus series, the first two books in the Magnus Chase trilogy and the first book in the Trials of Apollo trilogy. I’m waiting for the other books to come out. I loved all of those books and I have an entire shelf dedicated to them.

19547856Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Goodreads – my review

I picked this book up because of the cover (The Dutch edition is this pretty turquoise with an oreo on it.), the blurb (I was intrigued.) and the hype (I haven’t heard a bad thing about this book.) . I picked it up before bed thinking I would just read a few chapters. Next thing I know it’s 3 am and I’ve finished it. This is the first book that has ever happened with. I absolutely loved it. It was so adorable, relatable and funny. I loved Simon and Blue together!

31202835How to be a Bawse by Lilly Singh

Goodreads

This is the only non-fiction book on this list. I picked it up, because I really liked Lilly’s ( a.k.a. IISUPERWOMANII) videos on YouTube. Especially her more motivational ones and that was exactly what this was. To be honest, I didn’t think I needed it as I was perfectly happy, but I learned so much from this book. It made me reflect and think about some things I hadn’t thought about. I would recommend this book to everyone as it can help anyone to improve themselves.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Goodreads

This book holds a more personal memory. I read this book shortly after my grandma died from cancer and it helped me deal with my grief. It’s the first ever book that made me cry. It’s very special to me.

13206828The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Goodreads – my review

I picked Cinder up from the library, because I was in the mood for something SFF and the book has so much hype surrounding it. I didn’t think I would like it all that much, but boy, was I wrong. I loved it. I read it in the beginning of December and I asked for the entire series for Sinterklaas and Christmas. The books got better and better as I loved the new characters I met and kept on loving the older ones. My favourite is either Cress or Winter. I’m not sure. I haven’t read Stars Above or Wires & Nerve yet, but I will very soon. I ordered them from BookDepository a few days ago!

13188676Ignite me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter me #3)

Goodreads – my review

This is another series I picked up because of the covers (I mean, come on!), the blurb (I was intrigued.) and the hype. I didn’t like the first book all that much and I think that is because I had my problems with the romance. I did love the writing style. It was so beautiful. I wanted to know what happened next and that’s why I picked up the second book. I’m so happy I did that, because the sequel was so much better. I loved it. Needless to say I continued on with the series and picked up the third book. I was obsessed with that one. It simply made me happy. I shipped the main ship so hard, I loved the friendship between Juliette and Kenji and I loved the fast-paced plot and story! It was amazing!

A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas ( ACOTAR #2 & #3 )

Goodreads – my review

I had always been intrigued by this story, but it took me a long while to pick the books up as I was very disappointed by the Throne of Glass series. (a whole other story…) People kept saying how amazing these books were though and how much better they were than the ToG series. Eventually, they convinced me and I picked the books up. I’m so glad I did as I’m obsessed now. I love these books. A Court of Thorns and Roses isn’t as good as ACOMAF and ACOWAR though, so that didn’t make me favourites list. I would most highly recommend this series! Actually, I would most highly recommend all the books on this list!

32075671The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Goodreads – my review

I only read this book recently, a week or two ago. I picked it up because of the hype (I think we can conclude the hype works on me.) and the blurb. I was very intrigued and it seemed like one of those books I just had to read. I was right. This books deals so wonderfully with some hard topics and I loved it. On top of that it was also relatable, funny and often times emotional although I didn’t cry. I had to put the book down too much and I was thus pulled to much out of the story for that.

22466429The Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Goodreads

That brings us to the last and most recent book on this list. I only read it last week. I wasn’t expecting to love this book this much. I picked it up from the library, because I wanted a quick, contemporary and I was intrigued by the blurb ( It’s the last time I say that in this post. I swear.) Before the story starts, there’s a note from the Publisher saying that she adored I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson and that this was the first book she loved as much. That sold me instantly. She was right, this book is absolutely amazing. It’s very poetic and the writing style is beautiful. A true work of art!


And that’s it! those are my current favourite books. I hope you enjoyed this post. Thanks for reading it! See you next time!

Love,
252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The story behind my favourite books

  1. Ahhh, I love so many of these books. Especially The Hate U Give. It’s one of my favorite 2017 reads. I still need to read Lilly’s book because I love her videos as well. Awesome post! I just stumbled upon your blog, and I’m greatly enjoying its content.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up // Travel and favourite books | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

