June & July Book Haul // Random splurges and travel memories

Today I’m coming at you with a good old book haul. I’m not the kind of person who buys 15 books a month, but I have accumulated quite a few books in the past two. So I decided to share them with you!


Books bought in June

22738563

We should all be feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Goodreads

I’ve already read this book. I read it right away when I got it. Although it is very short, a mere 60 pages, it contains a very strong message. One that I agree with. It is written wonderfully and keeps you constantly engaged. I gave it five out of five stars. I think everyone should read it, especially since it’s so short so even for non-bookworms it shouldn’t be that hard to get through it.

32075671The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Goodreads – my review

I bought this book because I was very excited to read it. Now that I have, I must say that that excitement was rightful. It was absolutely amazing! It has become a new favourite of mine! I loved the characters and their story. Starr was an amazing main character. I also highly appreciated uncle Carlos as a character. The difficult topics were handled so incredibly well. The book was funny and made me laugh out loud several times. It was also cry-worthy, although I didn’t cry myself. I had to put the book down a lot while reading it, so I was pulled out of the story often. That resulted in me not crying. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars. You can find my more in-depth thoughts in my review.

31952703Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Goodreads – my review

This is the third and last book on this list that I’ve already read. To be honest, it was a cover buy and I have no shame in that. I was very intrigued by the story too, but I figured that even if I didn’t like it, the cover and the inside chapter pages were too beautiful to pass up. I ended up really loving this book. The overall bookish vibe, the bookstore, the letter library and the many book references made my bookworm heart happy. I also really loved the writing style. It was beautiful and lyrical in its descriptions, but when the characters spoke they sounded like real teenagers. For my more in-depth thoughts, please check out my review!


Books bought in July

#18667945Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso

Goodreads

This is the first book I picked up as a souvenir. I’ve started to buy books on my travels as a way of remembering them. Some people buy magnets, I buy books. This particular one I bought in Medvode, Slovenia (about 10 km from Ljubljana). In the many YouTube videos about empowering, feminist books I’ve watched this book has popped up, so I decided to pick it up. I’m now currently reading it and I’m enjoying it. The lessons in this book are very good and I’m excited to keep on reading!

30555488The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Goodreads

After searching countless bookstores in Croatia for English books that aren’t Twilight, I finally stumbled upon this book in a small bookstore in Rovinj. This book has gotten a lot of praise and my mom said she enjoyed it too and learned from it. Plus, I do quite enjoy historical fiction and I was in the mood for a hard-hitting book. I haven’t read it yet, but I do think that’s what it will be, hard-hitting. Of course I’ll tell you what I thought after I finished it!

3437The Curious Incident of The Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

Goodreads

This is the last souvenir book from My Eastern-Europian road trip. I bought it in Venice, Italy. The bookstore I found had English books, but there were mostly ugly editions of classics. Then I saw this book hidden on the bottom shelf and I was very happy. There has been so much praise for this book and after a recommendation of a good friend of mine whom I trust, I knew I had to pick it up. I haven’t read it up yet, but I’m most excited to do so. I don’t know exactly what it’s about, but I believe it tells the story of an autistic kid trying to find out who killed his dog.

8621462A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Goodreads

This was a bit of an in the moment splurge with some of the birthday money I had saved to spend on books. I came across a bunch of Patrick Ness’s books in a bookstore the other day. Since he’s such a popular author and his books have received so much praise, I really wanted to pick up one of his works. I haven’t read anything by him, but I figured A Monster Calls was a good place to start. I’m really intrigued by everything I’ve heard about it so far and I can’t wait to read it. I’m preparing to have my heart ripped out.

32887579One Of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus

Goodreads

And last, but not least, I picked up One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus. This book was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017 and when I saw it in my local bookstore with its gorgeous cover and red-sprayed edges, I just couldn’t pass it up! Mandy ‘s (over at bookprincessreviews ) absolutely love for this book made my choice to buy it even easier. I’m very excited to read this. It think it’s the kind of book I’ll fly through super quickly.


And that’s it! Those are the eight books I bought in June and July!

IMG_20170722_191635

I hope you enjoyed this post. Thank you for reading! I’ll see you next time!

Sending you lots of love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

 

12 thoughts on “June & July Book Haul // Random splurges and travel memories

  1. ONE OF US IS LYING HAS READ SPRAYED EDGES???? OMG. The US copy that I have doesn’t. OMG. I might need to get me another copy. XD But I think you’re super going to enjoy it. It’s twisty and the characters are super cool. All of these books sound so good, and I can’t wait to see what you think of your July books! ❤ Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Goodreads Book Tag – Reading Every Night

  3. Pingback: July Wrap Up // Travel and favourite books | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

