Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley // my bookworm heart is happy

Today I’ll be reviewing a book I really enjoyed, Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley. It had an amazing bookish vibe I think all bookworms would enjoy. 31952703Goodreads blurb :

Love lives between the lines.

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction, and the escape. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore. She can’t see her future.

Henry’s future isn’t looking too promising, either. His girlfriend dumped him. The bookstore is slipping away. And his family is breaking apart.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

Afbeelding2

Let me just start by talking about how awesome the overall vibe of the book is! It made my bookworm heart happy! (Hence the title of this post.) A very large part of the story takes place in a used bookstore. There are book discussions and references. The Letter Library was amazing and it made me want to write in the book myself even though I never do that. I also loved that the letters were also included in the book and not just mentioned.

“The Letter Library is a section of books that aren’t for sale. Customers can read the books, but they can’t take them home. They idea is that they can circle loved words or sentences on the pages. they can write notes in the margins. They can leave letters for people who’ve read and been there before them.”

Also the cover is amazing. I have to admit that although I was very interested in the story, this was mainly a cover buy. I’m so happy I have this book on my shelves.

Another thing I really liked are the pages in front of each chapter. They were printed with a photo of a stack of books. Each of them had a few words from the following chapter written on them. I found it beautiful and poetic!


I really liked the writing style. It was lyrical and poetic in its descriptions, but when the characters spoke they sounded like normal teenagers. I loved that, it was perfect. This is the first book I’ve read by Cath Crowley, but I might look into her other books, since I highly enjoy her writing style.


The book has two points of view, Rachel’s and Henry’s. They are ex-best friends who are becoming friends again. I had a bit of trouble with Henry in the beginning. I was annoyed because he kept going back to Amy even when it was clear she was just using him. It was a bit pathetic. I quickly got over that though. He was funny and he loved to read. He was simply adorable. Rachel’s brother Cal died before the story began and she’s grieving. I quickly felt for her and although she was often rude, I understood why. I ended up really liking both of the main characters and I shipped them from the start.

I also really like the side characters.  I was interested in their stories too. This, I think, is because they were all well-flushed out. Especially George, Henry’s sister. Fair warning though, there are two love triangles in this story. One of them I did mind (Rachel – Henry – Amy) and the other one I didn’t mind at all (Martin – George – ‘Pytheas’). The former was a bit stupid and I didn’t ship Amy and Henry at all. The latter did make sense and I kind of shipped both George and Martin and George and ‘Pytheas’. (You find out who Pytheas is, but I’m sticking to this nickname because of spoilers.)

As far as the side-characters go, I think the diversity was done very well. It was casual and normal. Let’s take Martin’s moms for example. Martin and the others pass by them in the car and he waves. he says the two ladies are his moms and that’s that. It’s simply excepted without it being a big deal. I loved that. I think more books need this kind of diversity, because this is how I’ve experienced it in real life. Diversity is a big deal and it needs to be in books, but it doesn’t always have to be the main focus of the story.

Afbeelding2

Overall I gave this book four out of five stars. I highly enjoyed it and I’d definitely recommend it! I hope you enjoyed this review. See you next time!

Love,
252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

9 thoughts on “Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley // my bookworm heart is happy

  1. Pingback: Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag | Brilliantly bookish

  2. Pingback: June & July Book Haul // Random splurges and travel memories | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: July Wrap Up // Travel and favourite books | Brilliantly bookish

  4. Pingback: I achieved my Goodreads goal! // an overview | Brilliantly bookish

  5. Pingback: August 2017 Bookshelf tour! | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

