Top 5 books of 2017 so far // these are all so amazing!!

Almost half of 2017 has passed and I’m taking this opportunity to gush about all the books I’ve loved so far. I’ve read some amazing masterpieces and I can’t wait to talk about them!

Before I get into the list, I have some honorable mentions: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater and We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

131886765. Ignite me by Tahereh Mafi (Shatter me #3)

Goodreads – my review

This was the second book I read this year and I absolutely loved it. It was a perfect conclusion to the Shatter me series. Tahereh’s writing style is fantastic! I loved Warner. He’s so amazing! The small problems I had with the romance in the first book were resolved. Juliette went to a lot of character development and I really liked her. Kenji was an amazing best friend and I loved his (non-romantic!) relationship with Juliette. Even Adam was okay in the end. The plot was super fast-paced and enjoyable. As with all the books on this list I’d recommend it to everyone! Also there are three more books coming out and I’m super excited!

312028354. How to be a Bawse by Lilly Singh

Goodreads

This is the only non-fiction book on this list, but it definitely deserves it place! Lilly shares amazing and important life lessons in a funny and relatable way. This books made me laugh out loud several times, something that rarely happens. She talks about self-love, success, failure, hard work, etc. I learned a great deal from this book and I believe everyone will. I feel like better version of myself now that I’ve read this book!

13206828 132069003. Cress and Winter by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #3 & #4)

Goodreads – Goodreads

The Lunar Chronicles is an amazing series I fell in love with this year. I love all the books in the series, but I think either Cress or Winter is my favourite. The characters in these books are amazing. Their really diverse. I especially love CressWell. The world is great and the plot is so exciting! It’s simply amazing.

195478562. Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Goodreads – my review

I love this book so much I’ve already re-read it! I read it once in January and once in May. Both times I finished it in one go. It is utterly amazing! Super fluffy and romantic! I love all the characters and the humour and the references to Harry Potter. This book made me laugh out loud. The book speaks about topic such as diversity in an amazing way! It was also very relatable. It holds amazing, meaningful quotes, but also gems like this :

β€˜Of course I have five quizzes in the next two days including one in une autre langue that I suck at completement. LE FUCK. β€˜

23766623.jpg 23766634.jpg1. ACOMAF and ACOWAR by Sarah J. Maas (ACOTAR #2 & #3)

Goodreads – Goodreads – my review

I read this books in the past month and I must say I’m absolutely obsessed. They books are absolutely amazing! They’re fast-paced, exciting, romantic, hilarious, thrilling and heart-breaking. I cried and I almost never cry, so that says something. In my review I gush about this series in full detail, so if you want to know more about all my non-spoiler and spoiler thoughts, I’d direct you there!


So that is my top five. What are your favourite books so far? Let me know! I’m really interested. I hope you enjoyed this post. See you next time!

Sending lots of love your way!

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

11 thoughts on “Top 5 books of 2017 so far // these are all so amazing!!

  1. AHHHHHHHH I’M SO HAPPY TO SEE SHATTER ME ON THIS LIST πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ I am so in love with that series and the characters and KENJI is so hilarious and the bestest friend ever! Gosh, I need to reread that series ASAP!

    And Simon vs. sounds so cute and funny, I can’t believe I still haven’t read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My 2017 TBR // Mid-year check up | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: June Wrap Up // The month I felt like a BAWSE | Brilliantly bookish

  4. Pingback: Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

