A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas ( ACOTAR + ACOMAF + ACOWAR )

I am very late with reading this series, but still I thought it would be fun to share my thoughts on it. I picked it up because of the hype and I must say I’m obsessed with it!

This review will contain both spoiler-free as well as spoilery sections, because I want to share all my thoughts on this amazing series. I will clearly mark where spoilers begin though, so don’t worry. Fair warning: this is going to be a hella long post!

acotarseries

IMG_20170525_121226A Court of Thorns and Roses

Goodreads blurb :

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.


I really enjoyed the first book in this series. It was a fantastic start to a series that gets better with each book. I really liked the main character, Feyre. She was fierce and she knew what she wanted. She didn’t give up. I also really like Tamlin. I loved their relationship in this first book. It was rather romantic! However, it did feel a bit weird shipping them when everyone seems to love Rhysand. I loved how the story of Beauty and the Beast was re-imagined. You could still recognise the original storyline, but there were some amazing twists.

I thought the world-building was very solid. This world is amazing! Maas did a good job explaining it in this first book without making it to hard. There was a lovely map included in the beginning of this book, but I didn’t feel the need to constantly flip back to the it because I didn’t understand what was going on, something I have done with some other books.

The plot started out a bit slow for my liking, but as the story went on it kept getting better and better. The last 200 or so pages were so thrilling!

Overall I would recommend this book.  I gave it four out of five stars because of the slow start, but I did thoroughly enjoy it!

Afbeelding2

Spoilers for A Court of Thorns and Roses below!

IMG_20170525_121238A Court of Mist and Fury

Goodreads blurb :

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


I am utterly in love with this book. I can’t believe it took me so long to pick up this series. This book is everything. I love the characters, the plot, the world, the romance, … It also talks about depression, abusive relationships and MALE victims of sexual assault in a way I highly appreciate. Feyre’s struggles felt so real. I’ve found a new favourite book. Obviously I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars. I would give it infinitely more if it were possible. Instead of me gushing about this book forever, I’ll just list my thoughts below. It will contain spoilers because I have too much to talk about.

Spoilers for A Court of Mist and Fury below!

Conclusion after part one:

I strongly dislike Tamlin. He doesn’t seem to care about Feyre’s feelings or mental health. He only cares about keeping her ‘safe’. He doesn’t want to lose her but fails to see that he is. He never listens to Feyre, he only gets mad at her. I loathe him for locking her up in the manor. Their relationship is abusive and is written in a way that feels so real. At first Feyre can’t admit to anyone even herself that her relationship is toxic. She manages to get away though. Her healing process is so well portrayed.

I really like Rhysand. He does care about Feyre and makes an effort to talk to her and show her what’s important. Instead of locking her up he frees her. He makes her learn how to read. He tells her about powers and unlike Tamlin encourages her to train them.

I don’t trust Ianthe even the slightest bit.

I think Feyre’s depression is handled well. With all that has happened it feels very realistic. Her emptiness is portrayed in a good manner.

I think I’m obsessed.

Conclusion after part two:

This is the first book I’ve read in which a MALE is the victim of sexual assault. I highly appreciate the way it is talked about in this book. This is such an important issue to talk about and it’s handled very well.

I love how Feyre is healing. It’s a slow progress, something I highly appreciate. She’s more alive now.

tumblr_on8u01glrg1v5f9mho1_540I love how the relationship between her and Rhysand is evolving. It’s so romantic!! Some of their conversations / notes / thoughts were hilarious. That attic scene though😍😱. And they’re mates!!! I had an inkling they were, but still it’s so amazing!

I love Mor. Cassian too. And Amren and Azriel. They’re funny and they all care about each other so much. They are such a good group.

Conclusion after part three:

Chapter 55. You know what I’m talking about. I think I love chapter 54, where Rhys explains how he knew of the mating bond and their story, more though. Feyre and Rhysand are so romantic. Ah, the feels!!

I hate Tamlin even more now. He’s a traitor. I’m already scared for what he’ll expect Feyre to do. I understand why Feyre did what she did, protecting her family, but I hate that she’s forced to be at the Spring Court now.

I also hate the king of Hybern, but I think everyone does. I don’t even have words for it.

I feel so bad for Nesta and Elain. The last thing Nesta wanted was to be High Fae and now she is. As for the mating bond between Lucien and Elain, I’m rather curious of what will happen. Surely I can’t be that bad, right? Them being mates must mean they’ll love each other. ( Why do I feel like my future self will laugh at my innocence????)

Feyre is now High Lady of the Night Court. Hell yeah! She’s grown to be a very strong woman, both mentally and regarding her powers. I love her.

I was right about Ianthe.

Afbeelding2

IMG_20170525_121249A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads blurb:

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.


 

This third installment in the series was utterly amazing. I am in love. It was thrilling, romantic, heart-breaking and hilarious. All the feels! I love the world, the plot and the characters, literally everything about it! It’s now one of my all time favourites. Obviously I gave it five out of five stars, I’d give it so much more if it were possible. Below you can find all my spoilery thoughts!

Spoilers for A Court of Wings and Ruin below!

Conclusion after part one:

I still don’t like Tamlin and Ianthe. They have sided together and have become even worse. Their behaviour is so wrong.

I love how badass Feyre is. She changed quite a bit in the duration of these books. She’s made all these plans that fell perfectly in place. I love how she manipulated Ianthe. I wish I could have seen the look on Ianthe’s face when she realised it wasn’t her that was in the sun. I kind of think Ianthe deserved it.

I don’t really know how to feel about the scene in the woods right before Lucian and Feyre fled. It was absolutely wrong what Ianthe did / was trying to do to Lucien. I hate her for that. Even though I agree she should have been punished, I don’t know how to feel about the way Feyre chose to do so. It showed a bloodthirsty side of her and I’m not sure if I like it.

I knew something was going to happen with those twins, but still I was surprised when it turned out they poisoned Feyre. That being said, I found it a bit unbelievable how Lucien and Feyre escaped. They shouldn’t have won that fight. Feyre didn’t have her powers anymore and Lucien also wasn’t able to do much while those twins were at full strength, very powerful and had trained for millenia. Lucien and Feyre shouldn’t have been able to escape.

I kinda like Lucien. He’s not the best, but he’s okay. I’m curious how the whole mate thing will play out in the next part.

Conclusion after chapter 34 ( a.k.a about fifty pages over the half of part two) :

I think it was a bit too convenient that Feyre’s powers came back right when she needed them. However the scene on the ice was already more believable than the scene with the twins.

I still absolutely love Rhysand. He’s so amazing. The moment when Feyre had just come back from The Spring Court was so romantic.

I don’t really like Nesta. It’s not that I despise her, she’s just not that likeable and always moody. Oh well, I can’t like everyone can I? Also, while on the topic of Nesta, I kind of ship her and Cassian really hard. It’s just something in their behavior around each other.

Can I just say that I want to go to that library?? It’s just so amazing!! Walls and walls full of bookshelves filled with books everywhere you look. It’s every bookworms dream. Well as long as you forget about that thing all the way down there. Shhhhhhh.

Also I really liked how in the first library scene Feyre felt remorse for what she had done to Ianthe, breaking her hand like that.

I love the conversations between Rhysand and Feyre, both mentally and out loud. They’re funny, flirty, sassy and you can see how much they love each other.

So they went to The Bone Carver again and apparently the boy Feyre sees is her and Rhysand’s son. I did not see that coming. And apparently the Bone Carver is the twin of the Weaver. Didn’t see that coming either.

tumblr_or74tzKeQN1rrprolo2_r1_540Can we all just take a moment and appreciate how badass Rhysand and Feyre were in that Throne Room in the Court of Nightmares? Hell Yeah.

I feel so bad for Mor that her father now wants to ruin Velaris. He’s such a bastard, that father. I seriously hate him. Also, how dare he insinuate Feyre should have sex with him?! As for Eris, I don’t like him, but he’s okay compared to some of the others.

I really like Feyre’s training sessions, with Cassian as well as with Azriel. They both have this sence of humour I really like.

So then there was that next library scene, the one were Hybern had infiltrated Velaris and send two so-called Ravens to go get both Nesta and Feyre, but mainly Nesta. Nesta took something from the Cauldron which has resulted in it not working properly. So now both the King of Hybern and the human Queens are angry and they want Nesta in order to fix the problem. Too bad they didn’t get her, right? The whole scene was very thrilling, because I didn’t know how it would end. Feyre couldn’t communicate with Rhys, her powers were numbed because of the Faebane and she had very little weapons with her. So they ran. Down to the bottom of the library. At a certain spot they split up so Nesta could get away. In order to survive Feyre made a bargain with the thing. I’m curious how that will play out. Then the thing killed the two Ravens and because the priestesses had warned the others, Rhys and Cassian came to get Nesta and Feyre.

Lucien is a decent guy I guess. He respects Elain and doesn’t do anything inappropriate. I think it was really good of him to offer to go to the sixth queen.

Actually about that. Elain is a seer. It kind of makes sense with everything she has been saying. I too had realised it during the library scene.

And now Hybern has attacked The Summer Court and it seems like war will begin. Let’s see how this goes.

Conclusion after the rest of part two:

I do like Nesta now. Just saying.

So Hybern attacked Adriata and that was Feyre’s first battle. I think this scene was written very well. It was the right amount of violence you would expect from war, entwined with a need of survival and the disgust of a first battle. It was very intense.

tumblr_oo9c14ySNw1vycvovo1_1280Rhys showed Feyre the crown jewels and she picked up a crown to wear. I image she looked great in it!

All the High Lords came together for the meeting and it was a rollercoaster of emotions. First of all, Tamlin was there. I don’t like him. He was really annoying. Then there was the whole Azriel explosion thingy. Eris was being a real jerk to Mor and Azriel got mad and attacked him. It was all fine really. Until Beron, High Lord of the Autumn Court called Rhysand a whore and Feyre exploded. She attacked Beron with all her powers and then all High Lords knew who had a bit of their powers. Beron got mad and he left. All the others formed an alliance.

Mor slept with Helion. I was kind of sad about that because I ship Mor and Azriel.

Now that there has been interaction with the other High Lords, the books has become a bit more diverse. Thesan is gay and Helion is either bisexual of pansexual. I’m glad the author included this in the story, because it wasn’t diverse at all before and now it’s at least a bit diverse.

Feyre made another bargain with the thing from the library, Bryaxis. It will fight in the war for her and in exchange she’ll give it a window, as it requested. It doesn’t seem like a bad thing right now, but we’ll see I guess.

Hybern blew up the wall, so now the real war is going to begin. As well as part three.

Conclusion after part three:

OMG this third part was amazing!

They went back to the mortal lands to go and ask Elain’s betrothed to take care of as many humans as possible. It kind of turned ugly. He said to Elain that he doesn’t want anything to do with her anymore and I really felt for her. It really hit her hard. Jurian was there too and apparently he is good now. It was a bit of a surprise, but to be honest I really didn’t care about Jurian all that much.

So then Hybern attacked The Summer Court again. It really seems like the king has something against this court in particular. Feyre didn’t participate in this battle, rather she watched it and then tended the wounded afterwards. This scene was written really well. It was different from the other battle because it wasn’t in the middle of a city, it was on an open field.

Then came another battle. This time it didn’t go well for Prythian. Tons of soldiers were slaughtered and they nearly lost, halfway through the battle Feyre decided she had to do something so she went to catch the Suriel. It helped her without her needing to trap it. And then Ianthe showed up, I’m so annoyed by her. Ugh. She killed the Suriel and she tried to kill Feyre too, but Feyre outsmarted her and tricked her into going to the Weaver cottage. She was killed and I didn’t mind for a single moment. I never liked Ianthe. Feyre held the Suriel’s hand in its last moments and then Helion found her and they went back to the camp. I quite like Helion.

Rhysand had been so worried not knowing where Feyre was, but he wasn’t mad. Actually about that, as much as I love Rhys as a character, I think he was a bit too perfect in this book. He didn’t get mad at Feyre once although he should have. In a way it wasn’t normal they never had a fight, especially considering some of the things Feyre did. ( Showing her powers in the meeting even though it was agreed she wouldn’t , running of to catch the Suriel,…) She didn’t do those things with bad intentions, but still I feel like it could have been done a bit better. I still love Feysand though, don’t get me wrong.

Mor was mad though and she and Feyre had words. I was so sad to see them fight. I love both of them too much.
Then Amren showed up in the camp and she and Varian kissed in front of everyone. It was actually quite romantic. I ship them. They are both sassy and strong and just right for each other.

The Cauldron stole Elain and I was so so so mad! It took her to Hybern’s camp and I so feared for her. When Feyre and Azriel went to get her, the scene was so thrilling. Jurian as well as Tamlin helped them escape, something I didn’t expect from either of them. Especially since Tamlin had seemed to choose Hybern’s side once again. Feyre, Azriel, Elain and another girl barely got out. They had to fly and it was to first real time Feyre had to do it. With the help of Tamlin’s spring breeze she succeeded though.

After all of that Mor and Feyre talked again. They made up and Mor explained why she and Azriel aren’t together. Turns out she’s lesbian. Hell Yeah! I love how this book is making the story more diverse bit by bit.

tumblr_or6kftYhuP1v5f9mho1_540

Feyre looked into the Ouroboros. She needed it to convince the Bone Carver to help them. When you look into it, you see yourself, truly see yourself, all the bad and all the good. Personally I think this scene was glossed over too much. It could have been done a bit better. There was a lost opportunity for character development here and I’m kind of dissapointed because of it.

I still absolutely adore this book though. In my opinion, loving a book doesn’t me you can’t look at it critically.

Then the very last battle came and boy, a lot happened. It was intense. First they released The Weaver, The Bone Carver and Bryaxis to fight Hybern and it seemed to go well, but not for long, soon they started to get slaughtered. Especially when the Cauldron started attacking too and killing hundreds of soldiers at once. Especially when Hybern not only had a massive army but also an armada showing up.

But there was some luck on their side as Beron and Tamlin showed up with an army, as Prince Drakon and Myriam showed up with theirs too, as Elain’s betrothed showed up with one, as Feyre’s father and the last mortal queen showed up with one. Suddenly the mystery around Feyre’s father was solved. He had been on the continent rallying forces against Hybern.

As Nesta and Cassian distracted Hybern’s king, Amren and Feyre went to disable the Cauldron. Then a huge plot twist came. Amren let Feyre touch the Cauldron and then revealed she had no spell to disarm the army and the Cauldron. I was furious at her.

Because Feyre was touching the Cauldron and because the Cauldron was searching for Nesta, Feyre saw the fight between her, Cassian and the king. After the king had attacked, Cassian was down and Nesta had used all her power, Elain stepped in and stabbed the King’s throat. Sadly, the king had already killed their father. I felt bad for Nesta, Elain and Feyre because of this, but I really didn’t care that much since I hardly knew the guy.

IMG_20170615_203601

Then came another plot twist. Nesta hadn’t turned bad, she was actually going to sacrifice herself and unleash the beast inside. And that’s what she did. She killed the entirety of Hybern’s army, but was then gone. I was really sad.

However, now the Cauldron was broken and in pieces. If it wasn’t fixed right away, the world would end, so Feyre and Rhysand fixed it and he died. I was devastated. I cried. That’s very rare and shows how good this book is. Feyre demanded of all the High Lords they’d remake Rhys, so they did and I was so glad. It was amazing.

Rhys also took Amren back from out of the Cauldron. I wasn’t that happy about it. Don’t get me wrong, I really like Amren and I wouldn’t want her to die, but it just was all too simple, the way she came back. It made her sacrifice almost seem benificial, since she could just come back that easily anyway. So as much as I love that the Inner Circle is alright, it just felt unrealistic that they were all fine when they were at the center of this huge war. Amren going was really important to the story and to just let her come back that easily felt off.

And that’s how the battle ended, all of them well, but very much affected by everything. This third part was exceptionally thrilling and amazing. Now the story continues with new alliances to make with the humans and the other Fae territories threatening, but for now I’m happy. Happy because this is going to be my favourite book of 2017. I absolutely adored it.

Afbeelding2

Overall I want to recommend this series to everyone! It is utterly amazing! The series has now joined some other books on my favourite shelf. I absolutely love it! So I hope you enjoyed this very long post. See you next time!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

fanart sources : http://silviarte.tumblr.com/

http://queendread.tumblr.com/

http://starofvelaris.tumblr.com/

15 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas ( ACOTAR + ACOMAF + ACOWAR )

  1. Wow, that was long 😂😂 But I totally agree with a lot of the things you said AND I’M SO GLAD THAT YOU LOVED THE SERIES! WOOO! And I think I like Chapter 54 over 55 as well! I love how everything is slowly being unraveled and you could really feel the love between them and I cried TONS! Feyre and Rhys are my life now XD Loved the review(s)! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top 5 books of 2017 so far // these are all so amazing!! | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: Fight Like a YA Girl Tag – Book Princess Reviews

  4. Pingback: Official 500 Follower Post + Q&A + More – icebreaker694

  5. Pingback: My 2017 TBR // Mid-year check up | Brilliantly bookish

  6. Pingback: June Wrap Up // The month I felt like a BAWSE | Brilliantly bookish

  7. Pingback: Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag | Brilliantly bookish

  8. OMG IT’S THE ACOTAR SERIES! The best way to get my inner fangirl out is to present a review of the series to me and my god did I love this review. I absolutely adored the first two books in the series, but I’m still trying to figure out how I feel about the last book – I can’t just that I enjoyed it as much as the others. But this was a lovely review and I’m so glad to meet another person who’s a fan of the books! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: The story behind my favourite books | Brilliantly bookish

  10. Pingback: I achieved my Goodreads goal! // an overview | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

