The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli // diverse, romantic and funny

Yesterday I finished The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli, the book I’ll review today. I highly enjoyed it, it was great! Becky Albertalli is one of my favourite authors of all time. Her books are absolutely amazing. Her writing style is quick, funny and so diverse. She has a way of writing the most adorable characters ever. So without further ado, let’s get started!

BTW, this review will be spoiler-free.

IMG_20170525_121137 Goodreads blurb;

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?


First of all let me tell you how diverse this book is. It is amazing! Molly is fat. She has anxiety. Her twin sister Cassie is lesbian. Cassie’s girlfriend is pansexual and Korean American. One of Molly’s moms is bisexual and white, the other lesbian and black. Molly’s family as well as Reid’s family are Jewish. Molly’s cousin Abby is black. All the diversity!

Molly has anxiety and that is handled really well. She takes her daily medicine. It’s said that she shouldn’t be drinking alcohol because of 1) her age and 2) the medicine and how that changes her partying experiences. She mentions her panick attacks briefly. It isn’t a big deal in the story. It’s just there and it’s acknowledged.

I loved the family dynamics in this book. It felt like a real family that genuinely cares about each other. In so many YA books this is just forgotten, but I highly appreciate when it isn’t. It makes a story just way more relatable.

Talking about relatable, the amount of swearing was so right. Albertalli really hit the mark! The amount of internet was also spot on. The characters text so much. Cassie calls her sister a Pinterest queen. And so on and so forth.

tumblr_op17611VxT1r3ibgko6_1280Now let me just tell you how much I love Reid. He is so amazing, funny, sweet and adorable! He made me laugh several times. I got his geeky references. Actually I think he’s the kind of guy I would fall for in real life.

I almost forgot to mention Simon, Nick and Abby from Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, Becky Albertalli’s other book, have a cameo in this one! It was amazing to read about them again.

Molly does have a lot of insecurities. It was very relatable. A bit too relatable, I guess. I started thinking about myself and criticising myself in a way that isn’t healthy. I was actually really unhappy. That’s also the reason I’m not giving this book five stars. It just doesn’t feel right to do so.


Ultimately I gave this book four out of five stars. I think it really deserves that rating! I hope you enjoyed this review. See you next time!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

Fanart source : https://siminiblocker.tumblr.com/

 

14 thoughts on “The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli // diverse, romantic and funny

  1. Great review!! I’ve had my eye on this one for a while now. The fact that it’s diverse and funny made adding it to my TBR a no-brainer, but now that you’ve mentioned that it has great family dynamics.. DAMN. I’ve probably never come across a YA book that portrays familial love well, I usually find that it’s better portrayed in new adult books, which is totally absurd! It should be the other way around, you know?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for this awesome review!! I’ve seen this book around a lot, but didn’t really find myself drawn to it until I read your review. I love all the diversity included in this and now I can’t wait to read it!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so excited to read this book, and your review made me even more pumped to do so!!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Technology in YA // Let’s talk! | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

