May Wrap Up // The month I celebrated both self-love and my birthday

Another month has gone by and here I am with yet another wrap up post. It’s crazy how quick time flies! I do greatly enjoy writing this type of post, so without further ado, let’s get started!


readingThis month I read a lot less than last month, but I’m still happy with my total of five books. The books I picked up were lengthier than those I usually read.
I also rediscovered my love for re-reading this month! With all the amazing unread books distracting me I had forgotten how much I enjoy re-reading an old favourite.

10964.jpgOutlander by Diana Gabaldon

Goodreads

The first book I read this month was Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I really enjoyed it. It was exciting and romantic. I really liked both Claire and Jamie. The story was really intense, so much happened in this first book! At times the plot was a bit slow, but I wasn’t bored at any moment. This book took me a while to read because 1) it’s very long 2) the chapters are quite lengthy too 3) it’s written in the tiniest font and 4) I was in a bit of a slump after my reading extravaganza last month. Overall I gave this book the full 5 out of 5 stars.

20820994I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Goodreads – aesthetics

Next up I re-read one of my all time favourites, I’ll give you the sun by Jandy Nelson. This book is absolutely amazing and I fell in love with it all over again! I love Nelson’s writing style. It is so lyrical and beautiful. Each time I read this book I really take my time with it because I appreciate every word and it’s beauty. This time around I wrote down all of my favourite quotes and I must say it’s a long list! I still think this is my favourite quote:

“This is what I want: I want to take my brother’s hand and run back through time, losing the years as coats falling from our shoulders.”

This book is fixated a lot on character development. It was a totally different experience to read about the guilt Jude, one of the main characters, felt when I already knew what the cause was. I absolutely love both her and Noah, the other main character. This book is heavily focused on art and I love that. Each time I put the book down I felt like creating something beautiful myself. Of course I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars!

17234659Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray ( Firebird #2 )

Goodreads

I started this book being very confused. I read the first book in October and although I really enjoyed that book, I didn’t remember enough of it to continue. I did still know the basic storyline and I refreshed my memory with a summary I found online, but still I was confused. Once I got past that though, I really enjoyed this story! I quickly got invested in the characters even though I didn’t agree with Marguerite quite often. The plot was thrilling and full of plot twists. Ultimately I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.

19547856Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Goodreads – my review

Then I re-read another one of my all time favourite books! It was gifted to me by my best friends together with another books and some more stuff. You can find my birthday book haul here! This book was a delight to read. It is fast-paced and exciting. You keep turning the pages untill you’re finished. Just like last time I finished this book in one sitting. I absolutely adore it. It is super fluffy and romantic! It tackles issues like diversity in an amazing way that I very highly appreciate. It’s also very funny and whilst there are amazing quotes about diversity it also holds gems like this:

‘Of course I have five quizzes in the next two days including one in une autre langue that I suck at completement. LE FUCK. ‘

So relatable! XD As you might have expected I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

16096824A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads

Lastly I picked this book up. I wanted to know what the hype was all about and I must say I understand now! I really like the characters in this book and I’m very invested in them. The plot was exciting, especially the last part of the book. I really liked the romance although it felt a bit weird shipping it when everyone talks about Rhysand. I do understand that though, he’s amazing! I decided to give this book 4 out of 5 stars. It isn’t the full 5 because the beginning was rather slow.

goodreads goalAnd those are all five books I read in May. I’m really content by my reading because I loved all of these books! I’m still well ahead of my Goodreads goal for this year. Nine books!

 

 


personalThis month flew by. The most important thing that happened was my birthday. I loved it! I celebrated it with both my friends and my family. It was one of those days were it’s harder not to smile than it is to smile! It was truly amazing.

As for the rest of the month I was very busy with schoolwork. This month we had an overwhelming amount of tests, assignments, reading and presentations to do, but I’m happy to say I got through it!


on-the-blogThis month I started a new series called ‘Self-love’ in which I talk about, you guessed it, loving yourself,  but also about self-care, gratitude and just a general positive outlook on life.

Self-love:

Exciting blog news! // new series

Write down what makes you happy // Self-love

Declutter your home // Self-love

Show your gratitude // Self-love

Go offline for a while // Self-love

Declutter social media // Self-love

Take a self-care day // Self-love

Motivational resources // Self-love

Tags:

Rip it or Ship it book tag // Love is in the air!

The New Disney Princess Book Tag

The Epic Birthday Blog Tag

Reviews:

none, oops!

Discussions:

What do you do when you have no inspiration? // Let’s talk!

Other:

My Bookish Wish List // Just because it’s fun!

Birthday book haul!

This month I focused a lot on my new series – because well, it was new – but next month I want to refocus on books again. I definitely wont give up on my Self-love series, but I do miss my bookish posts!


And that’s all for today! I hope you enjoyed this conclusion of my month. See you next time!

Love,
252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

 

3 thoughts on “May Wrap Up // The month I celebrated both self-love and my birthday

  1. I’ve thought a lot about starting the Outlander series, but I’m a little intimidated by how much of a time commitment it seems like it will be. Still, it’s reassuring to know that you enjoyed the first book!

    Also, I’ve loved reading you posts about self-love this past month ❤ It's such an important and under-discussed topic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: August 2017 Bookshelf tour! | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

