Take a self-care day // Self-love

How often do you take time for yourself? My guess is not very often, even though it’s very important! Personally I think I don’t take enough time for myself. That’s why I have started self-care days. On these I can’t do anything that feels like a task. All that I do I enjoy. It’s like taking a break from your busy life.Of course you have to pick the right day to do this. It isn’t very smart to do it in the middle of your exams, because I don’t think your next exam will go very well then.

Today I took a self-care day. You might think a Thursday is a weird day to do it, but today was a holiday here in Belgium and I have today and tomorrow off. It was the perfect time. To illustrate what you might do on a day like this, I’ll describe my day to you.

I woke up and the first thing I did was opening the windows.ย  The weather has been amazing the last few days and I love how the sunshine falls into my room. I took my phone and I spent the first hour of my day in bed watching all the motivational videos I had saved on YouTube but hadn’t watched yet. I really enjoyed that and I felt inspired.
Then I took a long shower and really relaxed. I made myself a cup of tea and I sat outside in my garden in the sun waiting for my brother and my mom. Together we ate French toast for breakfast. It was delicious. Then I grabbed my laptop from my room and I sat outside working on my blog. I wrote several blog posts that will be coming out in the next week. I don’t consider this a task because it is my hobby and I love doing it! It felt great sitting outside in the sun and enjoying the good weather. When I was satisfied with the blog posts I wrote I ate a lovely meal together with mt parents. Then I ย picked up Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda and started reading. This is one of my favourite books and I finished re-reading it a few hours later. This book fills my heart with utter joy! After a last meal outside I went inside because it started to get a bit chilly. Now I’m writing this post. When it’s published I plan to enjoy an evening of watching Netflix.

And that was my day! I didn’t do anything that felt like a task and I’m really happy I didn’t. I really recommend taking these types of days to unwind and relax!


I hope you enjoyed this post. See you next time!

Sending lots of love your way!

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

10 thoughts on “Take a self-care day // Self-love

  1. Reading your post reminded me that I haven’t taken a full self-care day in a long time. I do work self-care into my regular day – for instance, I’m really into doing yoga right now because it relaxes me and helps me focus at the same time. But I haven’t taken a full day to only do what I want to do in…I don’t even know how long, months at least.

    Thanks for the reminder, and I hope you’re feeling refreshed after your day off! โค

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: May Wrap Up // The month I celebrated both self-love and my birthday | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

