Go offline for a while // self-love

In today’s day and age we’re almost constantly looking at a screen. From your phone, your gps, your TV, your computer to even schoolboards in class. Sometimes it feels like I can’t escape them. So for your own self-care I’d suggest once in a while you take the time to really go offline and unwind.I may have sounded like an elder complaining about teenagers in the last paragraph, but actually I’m just 14 years old. Throughout my day, I’m almost constantly looking at a screen. Let me give you an example by describing a normal school day;

  • I wake up and while I’m eating breakfast I check my phone. (emails, my blog, my school page, social media, etc.)
  • I go to school and basically I’m looking at a screen for the next seven / eight hours with short breaks in between, because we aren’t allowed to use our phone at school. (A fact I’m actually happy with even though that might surprise you.)
  • I come home and I do my homework, for which I oftentimes need my computer.
  • Every other day I write a blog post on my computer.
  • I have some free time I spend reading, watching YouTube videos, reading fellow bloggers’ posts, checking social media, chatting with friends or making some art.
  • I eat.
  • I watch TV or Netflix.
  • I read before bed and go to sleep.

offlineisthenewluxury_flow-logo_valerie-mckeehan-jpg-kopieI’m sure you have noticed the amount of looking at screens and so you’ll understand why I enjoy going offline. I know I can’t be the only one who feels like this. After all, there is a reason ‘Offline is the new luxury’ has become a rather popular saying.

So now I’ll give you a few tips on what you can do offline.

Read a book

Okay, you must have seen this one coming! What else would you expect from a book blogger? However I am serious about this, though! Reading is one of my main ways of relaxing. I love to simply get lost in a story. I know this isn’t offline if you read on an e-reader, but that’s exactly the reason why I don’t read on one. As seen above, I have enough screens in my life already!

Create a piece of art

This could be anything, painting, knitting, writing, drawing, handlettering, … Personally I don’t have one specific ‘artsy’ hobby because I get rather bored pretty quickly. After I finish one type of project I move on to the next. Most of the time these two things are completely different. Often times people are scared of doing creative stuff, because they think it isn’t good enough. Well, you don’t have to be the next Van Gogh or Picasso, as long as you find joy in making something it is great! If you don’t want to, you don’t have to share you work with anyone.

Go for a walk

This doesn’t have to be an amazing hike up a nearby hill, it could just be a walk around the block. Personally, I really enjoy going on a walk in the forest. It’s really calming. You could walk together with a friend or family member or you could just walk by yourself. Often times I come up with the best ideas when I’m alone with my thoughts in a calming place.

Catch up with a friend

If you remember from one of my latest posts, I love having long deep chats with my close friends, really taking time for each other and talking. I also love laughing so hard it hurts and that too happens a lot when I’m with friends. Being present in the moment, without the constant notifications on your phone reminding you of other things is often times so underestimated, but you will really be more happy if you are more present.


That is all I’ll include in this post, but I’m sure there are a ton of other things you can do in your offline time. If you have any ideas, please leave them in the comments, I’d love to read them! Thanks for reading, see you next time!

Love,
252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

5 thoughts on “Go offline for a while // self-love

  1. Pingback: May Wrap Up // The month I celebrated both self-love and my birthday | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

