April Wrap up // The month I read so much!

This month was great. I read a lot of books, I posted my first discussion post, I had a two-week holiday and I went on a trip to Amsterdam!

reading

This month I read a total of 12 books. I’m really happy with that. It’s way over my monthly average!

13206900Winter by Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles #4)

Goodreads

I started the month with the conclusion of one of my favorite series, Winter by Marissa Meyer. It was the perfect ending. I couldn’t have imagined a better story. I loved princess Winter and even Jacin grew on me, even though I didn’t like him that much in the previous books. I still love all the characters from the previous books, especially Cress, Thorne and Iko! I gave it five stars of course!

11387515Wonder by R. J. Palacio

Goodreads – my review

As I said in the title of my review I think this was an important, quick and thought-provoking read. It definitely made me think. I really liked the short chapters. The several perspectives made the story more realistic. It was great to hear everyone’s side of the story. I gave the book 4 out of 5 stars.

18304322Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

Goodreads – my review

I did not like this book, I was very disappointed. I expected empowerment and girl love, but instead I got very little of that. I think my main problem with this book was Willowdean, the main character. She was annoying, self-involved and judging of others she found lesser than herself. I gave this book 1 out of five stars, maybe 1.5 if I’m generous. I really didn’t like it. For more in-depth thoughts, you can check out my review. I explain why I didn’t like this book better there.

18692431Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Goodreads

Next I read and really enjoyed this book. I had heard fabulous things about this book and I’m glad it didn’t disappoint, I gave it five out of five stars. although I was spoiled for one of the big things in the book ( Damn you movie trailer!), it still kept me up one night. I really liked the characters, the doodles and how much Maddie loved books. I guessed the ending not to far into the book, but that didn’t bother me. Rather I was proud that I had. However, the represetation in this book is problematic. I highly recommend watching this video by Annie Elainey. She explains way better than I could do it.

157993The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupรฉry

Goodreads

I was browsing the library when I came across this book. immediately I became nostalgic. I had read this book several times when I was little and I remember really liking it. Wee did a lot of things involving this book in my school. As it had been years since I last read it, I found a comfortable chair in the library and I started to read. Now that I’m a bit older, I saw the story through new eyes, but I still loved it. This book will always hold a special place in my heart. 5 out of 5 stars.

17378527The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater ( The Raven Cycle #4)

Goodreads

I had a bit of trouble getting into this book, because I was very confused by what was actually happening. But when I got past that, I loved the story! I love the overall atmosphere of this series and I really liked this conclusion. The ending was both expected and unexpected at the same time. Some things were inevitably going to happen, but Stiefvater found a way to give them a twist and I really appreciated that. I gave the book four out of five stars.

31202835How to be a Bawse by Lilly Singh

Goodreads

This book was amazing! First of all, it was very easy to read. Lilly has a very nice writing style, full of jokes and references. To be honest I didn’t really think I needed this book. My life was perfect, but how was I wrong! I learned so many new things and I feel like I’ve become a better person. The book is full of realistic lessons with good and clear examples. I would definitely recommend this book! Anyone could use it!  I gave it five out of five stars. Obviously.

15749186To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #1)

Goodreads

This was an okay read. I had heard a ton of great things about it, so my expectations were really high and I think that’s why it disappointed me a bit. I really liked the main character, Lara Jean and I loved her family! The dynamics were so good. The dad really cared ( which is unusual in YA fiction) and the sisters were so lovely! I especially liked Margot, because she was very relatable. My problem with the book is that I didn’t like the love triangle. It was clear to me that one of the boys was clearly the ‘winner’. I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars.

56638956PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han ( To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #2)

Goodreads

I liked this book better than the first. It mainly had the same characters and I still really liked them. Actually, the only characters I didn’t like over the course of these two books were Genevieve and Chris. You might be surprised that I didn’t like Chris, the MC’s best friend, but I just didn’t. I liked the love interests in this book better. Overall I think this book deserves 4 out of 5 stars. Also, isn’t that the cutest teacup ever on the cover?

15196.jpgMaus I: A Survivor’s Tale: My Father Bleeds History by Art Spiegelman (Maus #1)

Goodreads

I had wanted to read this graphic novel for ages. It had been recommend to me several times and for some reason I like to read about the Second World War. I think this book has an accurate representation of what is was like to be Jewish in that period of time. When Vladek Spiegelman, the author’s father, spoke the grammar wasn’t correct and that felt really authentic. I think his representation was very accurate. Unfortunately I didn’t like him very much. I gave this book 3 out of five stars. I expected it to be more hard-hitting and it was, but not as much as I thought it would be. Maybe it’s the format, I don’t know.

15197Maus II: A Survivor’s Tale: And Here My Troubles Began by Art Spiegelman ( Maus #2)

Goodreads

Again, I liked this better than the first. It was more hard-hitting and it left me thinking. Another reason I liked this one more is that we get to see more of Art Spiegelman himself. I gave this graphic novel 4 out of 5 stars. I would recommend both Maus I and Maus II.

The Selection by Kiera Cass ( The Selection #1)

10507293Goodreads

This book was a re-read and I must say my opinions about it haven’t changed that much from the last time I read it in March last year. I did find America a bit more annoying than I did previously. I’m definitely on team Maxon! I mean, come on! Both times I read this book it cheered me up and I’m really grateful for that. Sometimes you just need princesses and fluffy romances to make you feel better.

And those are all the books I read in April! I really liked most of them ( except for Dumplin’).

bnwfg

Here is an update of my 2017 Goodreads reading challenge. I want to read 60 books by the end of the year and I already ahead of schedule!

 


personal

On a personal level this month was great too! In the beginning I had a two weeks long Spring break which I thoroughly enjoyed. I went to Amsterdam, which you can read more about here. I held a Netflix marathon with my two best friends, we binge-watched the first season of PLL. I caught up on a lot of sleep. I hung out with friends. I did a lot of creative stuff. Really I did a ton!


TumblrAs you may know ( or not) I have an aesthetics blog on Tumblr. I really like it. Here is an overview of my posts this month:

princess Jasmine, queen Elsa, ENFP, INTJ, INFJ, INFP, minimal Hufflepuff, ISFP, minimal Ravenclaw

minimalist ravenclaw


on the blog

Here is an overview of all my posts this month!

Tags

The Nintendo book tag.

The Rapid Fire Book Tag // Was this supposed to be quick? Oops

The Candy Book Tag

The Goodreads book tag // because Goodreads is amazing!

Discussions

Can I discuss diversity if I come from a privileged place? //Letโ€™s talk!

Reviews

Dumplinโ€™ by Julie Murphy // Not what I was expecting

Wonder by R. J. Palacio // important, quick and thought-provoking

Other

Thank you!! + Q&A announcement

Q&A // Answering all your lovely questions!

Amsterdam was very gezellig // Travel

February, March and April book haul // I finished my physical TBR!


And that was my month! Thank you for reading! This post is was longer than my usual ones, I hope you enjoyed it! See you next time!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

 

         

 

3 thoughts on “April Wrap up // The month I read so much!

Leave a Reply

