Wonder by R. J. Palacio // important, quick and thought provoking

11387515Today I’ll write a review for the book Wonder, written by R. J. Palacio. I think this story is very important. But first, here is the Goodreads blurb:

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

Afbeelding2

Before I say more about the story, I first want to talk about the format of the book. Normally I don’t talk about this, but I couldn’t resist since I found it so wonderful. I read what I believe is the UK paperback edition. The cover is beautiful! The book was so light-weight and that was great. The chapters were also really short, this made the book a very quick read. It didn’t feel dragged at all.

Afbeelding2

I really like that the story is told from different perspectives. It made the story more well-rounded. With a realistic story than this, I found it great you got everyone’s perspective. Well, maybe not everyone’s but you get what I mean. I liked most of the characters.

August / Auggie, the main character is only ten years old, but he has gone through a lot. Palacio did an amazing job portraying the perfect balance of naivety and maturity. I really like how the story was also about other things, like friendship and his dog. In a way, it’s because of August that this was possible. He was strong and didn’t drown in self-pity. He just wanted to be normal and just did normal things. I really liked that.

8727394

I really liked Summer. She was a fun character that didn’t care what anyone else thought and I admire that. She stood up for August when he couldn’t himself.

I felt like both Via and Jack were really realistic characters. They did some things not everyone would be okay with, but their reasons behind it are so human.

I didn’t like Julian. However, I do think he was necessary for the story to be realistic. It wouldn’t be right if nobody was mean to August, that wouldn’t be a good portrayal.

Afbeelding2

This was a very character driven book, just like I expected. The plot wasn’t that exciting, but I didn’t mind. There still was some plot though. The story wasn’t only about how August looks. I liked that. I made the story even better.

Afbeelding2

Overall I gave this book 4/5 stars. As I have mentioned several times, I think it is really important. Aside from it being a great story, it also made me think about my own life, bullies and other things. I would definitely recommend it.

That’s it for today! I’ll see you next time!

Love,
252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

5 thoughts on “Wonder by R. J. Palacio // important, quick and thought provoking

  1. Pingback: April Wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

  2. Pingback: What do you do when you have no inspiration? // Let’s talk! | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: I achieved my Goodreads goal! // an overview | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

