Amsterdam was very gezellig // Travel

Today I’m blogging about something completely different, my love for travel. I love to discover new places and make new memories. I just came back from a two-day trip to Amsterdam and I loved it! It was a school trip, but we don’t have to write a report or anything. I actually really didn’t mind some teachers were there. We were lucky to have the best teachers and it was really fun. Since it was a school trip almost all my school friends were there and we made tons of awesome memories.

Afbeelding2

amsterdamThe first thing we did when we arrived in the city was taking a boat tour on the grachten. It was a really nice start. We got an overview of the city and it was beautiful. While we were on the boat we chatted and played games like MurderWord (moordwoord).

 

Then we had lunch and we went to the Van Gogh museum. It was nice to see his paintings, but I’m still a bit disappointed Starry Night wasn’t in the museum. It’s my favorite painting by him.

Then we received some clues we had to follow and we walked through the city. It was really cool. I was in a group with two girls I didn’t know and we talked the entire afternoon. There were also two of my other friends in my group and it was really gezellig. However our group was terrible at reading the clues and we ended up making a detour of 8 km. It’s needless to say our feet hurt at the end of the day. We found a lovely restaurant where we sat down and had a delicious meal. A lot of my other friends who were in different groups were also there.

indexThe next day we went to Madame Tussaud’s. It was really fun. It might not be the most ‘fancy’ museum, but we all really enjoyed it.

Then we all had free time to spend in the city. Together with a group of friends I went to an amazing bookstore! We had spotted it the day before on our 8 km detour. All the walls were full of books but the most amazing things was the staircase. Next to it there was a wall full of books that was two floors high and was two-sided. It was amazing; a bookworm’s dream came true! The photo doesn’t even do it justice! I bought two books there; Everything, everything by Β Nicola Yoon and How to be a Bawse by Lilly Singh! I also bought a tote bag that says “Spread the book love!”.IMG_20170404_114817

 

After lunch, we also went to the house of Anne Frank. I had already been there, but my friend really wanted to see it and I was happy to go with her. When we got there we took a look at the outside, but we decided not to go in, because the line was insane! Instead we went to the nine streets and we discovered really fun stuff. We chatted and we experienced the Dutch mentality. Overall this trip was so gezellig! After all of this we met up with the rest of the group and the teachers and we rode the bus home.

By now, you probably have noticed that I used the word gezellig multiple times to describe this trip. You might be wondering what it means. It’s a word in Dutch that has no translation in English. It means cosy, but not only like a space. It’s the feeling you have when our with friends and family and you laugh and talk and it is ‘cosy’ or ‘sociable’ or homy’. This was how the entire trip was; gezellig. I felt it was appropriate to use a Dutch word to describe my trip!

Afbeelding2

That’s all for today! I hope you enjoyed this different post! See you next time!

Love,
252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

14 thoughts on “Amsterdam was very gezellig // Travel

  1. I did enjoy your post. Amsterdam is so walkable and a great city to be discovered on foot.

    Yep, lines for the Anne Frank house are always long. I have visited it twice. Very haunting.

    You totally had me with your bookstore. It looks amazing! 😍

    I am always surprised how much similarity is between Dutch and german. I don’t speak dutch but german and understood “gezellig” right away. In german it is spelled “gesellig”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Goodreads Book Tag – Painfully Fictional

  3. Amsterdam is on my list of places I really want to visit, even more so after reading this post. And I loved how you described the word “gezellig”. I speak Dutch, but I never realized there isn’t an accurate translation for that word until now! That’s pretty cool πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: February, March and April book haul // I finished my physical TBR! | Brilliantly bookish

  5. Pingback: April Wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

