Review Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Today I’ll be reviewing Simon VS The Homo Sapiens agenda by Becky Albertalli. I loved this book. Last weekend I picked it up thinking I would just read a few chapters before going to bed and the next thing I know it’s three AM and I’m done. This book was super fluffy, cute, romantic and adorable!

19547856

Goodreads blurb:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

plot2-0

The plot was very entertaining. It follows Simon and his friends and family. It’s funny and cute. We also get to see a lot of the mails send between Simon and Blue. I loved those chapters and their conversations. As you probably got from the synopsis, a rather big part of the plot is about Simon being gay and his relationship with Blue. Becky Albertalli wrote some passages about this that really stuck with me, for example:

simon040715_largewide

characters2-0

I loved the characters in this book. First of all there’s the main character Simon. I found him funny and cute and I loved his interaction with the others. There’s also Blue, I loved his mails and I did not expect him to be the person he ended up being. However, I do really ship the two. They’re just so great together and it’s super romantic and sweet. I also really liked Abby, Nick and Leah. The only character I didn’t like was Martin. I can’t go into much detail, because it would be spoilery, but let’s just say I didn’t like his actions nor the way he dealt with the consequences.


Overall I really loved this book. It has quickly become one of my favourites. I would recommend it to everyone who likes YA contemporary and is looking for a light read. Warning: If you like Oreos, you will be craving them while reading this book! I hope you enjoyed this post! See you next time!

Love,
252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

19 thoughts on “Review Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

  1. Pingback: My favourite ships | Brilliantly bookish

  2. Pingback: February Wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: February wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

  4. Pingback: My Bookish Wish List // Just because it’s fun! | Brilliantly bookish

  5. Pingback: What do you do when you have no inspiration? // Let’s talk! | Brilliantly bookish

  6. Pingback: Birthday book haul! | Brilliantly bookish

  7. Pingback: May Wrap Up // The month I celebrated both self-love and my birthday | Brilliantly bookish

  8. Pingback: Top 5 books of 2017 so far // these are all so amazing!! | Brilliantly bookish

  9. Pingback: My 2017 TBR // Mid-year check up | Brilliantly bookish

  10. Pingback: Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag | Brilliantly bookish

  11. Pingback: The story behind my favourite books | Brilliantly bookish

  12. Pingback: July Wrap Up // Travel and favourite books | Brilliantly bookish

  13. Pingback: I achieved my Goodreads goal! // an overview | Brilliantly bookish

  14. Pingback: Short book recommendations | Brilliantly bookish

  15. Pingback: August 2017 Bookshelf tour! | Brilliantly bookish

  16. Pingback: Top 10 books I read this summer | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

