January wrap up

I will handle this months wrap up a bit differently. I’ve decided to add a few categories, but you’ll see what I mean in a bit, so let’s get started!reading

This month was an okay reading month for me. It wasn’t spectacular, but I am happy with it. I read a total of 6 books this month, an okay amount. I’m a book ahead on my Goodreads reading challenge, so I’m quite happy with that!

Numbers by Rachel Ward

Goodreads  –  My review

I started the month of with a book I got as a Christmas gift from my aunt. I was really intrigued by the synopsis. Basically, there’s this girl and when she looks into the eyes of someone she can see when they are going to die and then one day she is at the London Eye and she realises something is going to happen, because everyone around here has the same number. It had a bit of a slow start, but the ending was really good. It made me cry and that is saying something. Ultimately I gave this book four out of five stars.

numbers-rachel-ward

Ignite me by Tahereh Mafi

Goodreads  –  My review

Next up was the conclusion to the Shatter me series. I loved this book and I gave it the full five out of five stars. It may not have had the best plot and I do agree that the ending was a bit rushed, but I mostly rate based on enjoyment and I was so so so in love with this book. I loved the characters, but if you want to read more, check out the review I posted 🙂

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads

This is a book series everyone seems to like, so I decided I needed to catch up. I really liked it too. It had a good plot that kept me entertained and guessing and I really liked the characters; Dorian, Choal (Dorian more though), Nehemia and Celaena. I adored Celaena. She has become one of my favourite heroes. She is so badass and strong – both physically and mentally – , but at the same time also feminine and I really appreciate that. She is sassy, she loves reading and she works for her goals. Oh and her dog is so adorable! I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars and I would really recommend it!

17347389The dream thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Goodreads

This book was definitely a step up from the first. I feel like I now understand why everyone seems to love this series. I got way more attached to the characters and I liked the whole vibe of the book a lot more. My rating was 4 out of 5 stars. I was kind of meh about Ronan in the first book, but now I like him. Actually I like all of them, except Adam. Just like I don’t like Adam in the Shatter me series, which is kinda funny when you think about it since my name is Eva.

The bone season by Samantha Shannon

Goodreads

This book was … not for me. It took me ages to read. There was way to much info dumping in the first part of the book and I didn’t get attached to the characters. I did power through, because I wanted to know why everyone loves this book and I must admit it got better near the end of the book, but not enough to win me over. I gave it 2.5 out of 5 stars.

Le cinqième doigt

Last and definitely least I read Le cinqième doigt. (I don’t know who the author is, it doesn’t say.) I read this book for French class and it was super problematic. It about this 17-year-old guy that steals, drinks, takes and deals drugs and then he gets abducted, because he wants to get out of the drug dealing network. He escapes and helps the police to catch the biggest drug dealers in the area and suddenly he is the hero and he has done nothing wrong. He is also sexist and if this book wasn’t assigned reading I would have DNF’ed it after about ten pages or so. It’s that bad. If this book was on Goodreads I would give it a one star rating, but it’s not.

I’m currently reading and really enjoying Like no other by Una LaMarche it’s very diverse and I’ll post a review for it soon!

bookstagram

This is the first extra category I’ll add to my wrap up posts. I thought I would be fun to give you guys and update on my Bookstagram.

16426770_1854789794735104_2115832439_n

I started the month with posting some more festive themed photos, but then the holidays ended, so I had to change my theme. I didn’t want to go back to my previous theme, so after a week of contemplating I decided to go with a more rustic theme/ vibe. I’m really happy with it! If you like me photos, feel free to follow me 🙂 @brilliantly_bookish_

16441291_1854789791401771_14985675_n

 

on-the-blog

I’ve decided to also have a quick look back on my posts this month. Here is a quick overview;

Reviews:

Review Shatter me series by Tahereh Mafi

Review Numbers by Rachel Ward

Tags and awards:

2016 Year in review book tag

Celebrating the little things tag

The Mystery Blogger Award

Sunshine blogger award

Personal:

Life Update #1

My bookmark collection

Other:

I’ll Give You The Sun aesthetic

Cover Wars


That was my bookish January! How was yours? I hope you enjoyed this post and see you next time!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

 

