December and January book haul

First and foremost I want to thank all of my fantastic followers! Yesterday I hit 50 followers and I cannot believe it! This may seem like a very small number for a lot of you, but I thought I would have 0 followers in the first few months, so it is huge to me. You are all wonderful people and I love you!

15879126_154592855028527_1619220621_n

With that being said, today I will talk about all the books I hauled in the last two months. I’m combining them, because most of these are gifts and I was still celebrating the holidays in the first week of january. So without further ado, let’s get started!


img_20170129_122841

I added a total of nine books to my collection. (I forgot to include one in the picture. Oops.) For me, nine books is a ton, but since I only paid for one of them it’s actually a great haul.

img_20170129_122459

Numbers by Rachel Ward

 

Goodreads

My aunt gifted me this book for Christmas and I’ve already read and reviewed it. you can find my review here. I liked the book, especially the ending. It made me cry and I (almost) never cry when I read a book. Also, if you’re wondering, they changed the title to Deadline for the Dutch edition.

 

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

img_20170129_122113       img_20170129_122201-2

img_20170129_122229       img_20170129_122310

Goodreads

I got these books as a Christmas gift and I’m so excited to have them. I’ve already read Cinder and I loved it, you can find my review here. I haven’t continued with the series yet, because Scarlet only arrived about a week ago and first I have to finish some books for school, but soon, my friends, very soon.

Lange Dagen by Pia De Jongimg_20170129_122027

 

Goodreads

This is a Dutch book that hasn’t been translated to English. It’s about a 14 years old girl named Eva (that sounds familiar 😉 ) whose father decides they will travel to a unmaped region of Lapland. My dad was getting rid of a couple of books and he asked me if I wanted to keep some of them. This one caught my eye because of the main character. I haven’t read it yet, but I’m excited to see where the story will go.

Will we ever speak Dolphin? by Mick O’Hare, New Scientist

Goodreads

This is another book my dad was getting rid of. It’s full of funny science questions and answers. It’s a very light read and I think it’s going to be both funny and interesting.

On foot through Africa by Ffyona Campbell

Goodreads

This is the third and last book I recovered from my dads pile. Ffyona Campbell tells her story from when she walked from Cape Town to the street of Gibraltar. She must be a very strong women and I’m intrigued by her story.

IMG_20170129_122002.jpg      img_20170129_123521

The hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2)

img_20170129_122401Goodreads

As soon as the Dutch translations of this book came out I picked it up. I just love Rick Riordan’s books, but they have to be in Dutch. I’m always annoyed by the mythological names in the English editions. They are so butchered and I can’t stand it. In the Dutch edition, we just keep the names as they are.
Anyway, I’m sure this book will be as amazing as all Riordan’s other books and I cant wait to read it!


Library Haul

I love the library, it’s my main access to books and every month I take a ton of books home. For that reason I decided to include a quick library haul. Here is a list of all the books:

  • Destroy me by Tahereh Mafi
  • Fracture me by Tahereh Mafi
  • Unravel me by Tahereh Mafi
  • Ignite me by Tahereh Mafi
  • I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
  • The dream thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The little shop of happy ever after by Jenny Colgan
  • When breath becomes air by Paul Kalanithi
  • An ember in the ashes by Sabaa tahir
  • Shadow and bone by Leigh Bardugo
  • The bone season by Samantha Shannon
  • The knife of never letting go by Patrick Ness
  • Simon vs. the Homo sapiens agenda by Becky Albertalli
  • Like no other by Una Lamarche
  • Le cinqième doigt

Thank you for taking the time to read this post, I hope you enjoyed it! Thanks again to all my incredible followers! See you next time!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

7 thoughts on “December and January book haul

  1. Congratulations for achieving that milestone. 😀
    So many amazing books here o.o
    Have you read the Lunar Chronicles yet? I absolutely loved them 😀 Shatter me series was great as well and Throne of Glass:) Will you do a review of them once you read them? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I have already read Cinder and I loved it. I have a review for it that I post a few weeks ago. I’m looking forward to reading the other books. I’ve also already read and reviewed the Shatter me series😃. I will quickly review Throne of Glass in this months wrap up, because everyone has read it by now.😃

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Amsterdam Book Tag – The Book Raven

Leave a Reply

