Life Update #1

Let me just start by apologizing for not posting in the last week. I had a very busy weekend and then my laptop broke and I lost a lot of my files. I’ve now found another computer to use and although I’m still trying to fix my laptop and get my files back, I didn’t see why I shouldn’t post. So here I’m bringing you a life update. Some things have changed recently and I thought this was a good place to share. I hope you enjoy a sneak peek into my life.

vs

Let’s start with the basics. I’m currently reading two books, The bone season by Samantha Shannon and Le cinqième doigt (The fifth finger) which doesn’t have an author name on the book. The latter I am reading for French class and I’m not really enjoying it. It’s very problematic and it makes me wonder what on earth the teachers where thinking when they assigned us this book.

17199504  5394-1

I’m taking a break from Bookstagram since I got a bit overwhelmed by all the accounts I was following and I thought a break might help. Additionally, I don’t really know what to do with my own theme. The holidays are over, so I have to change the Christmassy theme I now have. However, I don’t really want to go back to my previous theme. I don’t know what I do want to do.

vs-2

The first series I watched and loved recently is Planet Earth II. It’s a documentary series about nature and the footage is outstanding. Even if you don’t really like nature documentaries, I would tell you to watch it. It is AMAZING.

My brother and I are going to start watching Class soon. It’s a spin-off series from Doctor Who which we also watch together. I don’t really know what it’s about, but I’m going to watch it anyway since it’s DW related. Also, did you know it’s written by Patrick Ness? I didn’t know either, but I learned that from one of Callum McLaughlins latest posts.

landscape-1459768635-class-cast

 

I’m also currently watching The missing. This is a thriller (I think) about some girls that were kept in a basement for eleven years and have now returned. A lot of weird stuff is happening and I’m really enjoying it.

vs-1

Lately I’ve been really inspired by minimalism and more so by muchelleb on YouTube. She makes awesome videos and this month she’s really been focusing her videos on minimalism. All her decluttering inspired me to do some of it myself, so this weekend I cleaned out my room. I decluttered my desk, my drawers, my closet, my bedside table, which has these big drawers that held a ton of stuff,etc. Literary everything except for my books and my clothes, because I know I want to keep all of those. I’m still growing, so all the clothes I own were bought recently and aren’t damaged or to small and I like all of them. You should know that I was/ am not a hoarder and that I owned a very normal amount of stuff. Nonetheless  I got rid of a ton of stuff (donating, recycling or trash) and I feel so good now. I feel like a weight has been lifted from my shoulders. Everything I own serves a purpose or makes me happy and I very happy with that. It feels great. 10 out of 10 would recommend!

This next thing is a lot more personal. Last year I had knee surgery twice (on the same knee.) The last time was in November and I’m still recovering from that. Untill yesterday I had to wear a knee brace, slowly being able to bend my knee further while the weeks passed. I’m telling you all of this because today is the first day I don’t have to wear it anymore and it feels like a win. It is awesome to see how I’m slowly getting better and I wanted to share this bit of positivity.

I also want to tell you about a big part of my life. School. I spend more than 8 hours of my day there daily and then I still have to do homework, make assignments, study for tests, etc. I’m not complaining, I love to learn and a lot of my friends I know from school. I study Greek-Latin with five hours of math. As the name suggest, this means Ancient Greek, Latin, math, French and Dutch are my main subjects. The last two are because I live in Belgium and it’s standard to learn these languages. I been assigned some books to read this semester and I really hope the other books are better than the French book I’m reading now.


That’s all for today. I hope you liked this post. It was more personal than usual, but I want you to get to know me, the blogger behind this blog, a bit better. See you next time!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

9 thoughts on “Life Update #1

  1. Pingback: The Emoji Book Tag – Painfully Fictional

  2. Pingback: Sunshine Blogger Award – Painfully Fictional

  3. Pingback: January wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

  4. Pingback: “What Cats Do” Book Tag – Painfully Fictional

  5. Pingback: Life update #2 | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

