Cover Wars

I really like comparing covers and that’s why I decided to make my very own cover wars. Since I’m Belgian myself, I will compare the Belgian (Flemish ) covers to the American covers or the British ones. So without further ado, let’s get started!

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

16034235      13519397   20560267

US cover / UK cover / Belgian cover

For me the Belgian cover is the winner here. Celeana looks far more human, but still very badass and I like the greens. As far as the other covers go, I like the black background of the American cover better.

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

23305614     9789048835638

US  cover / Belgian cover

The British / American cover is the winner with a humongues lead. I mean, come on! The Belgian cover is awful. It is completely wrong for the book and it’s ugly. Luckely they’ve now also come out with a Belgian cover similar to the American one.

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

8835379   12358349   11306615

   US cover #1 / US cover #2 / Belgian cover

In this case I think I like the first American cover best. The Belgian cover comes second and the other American cover last. I just don’t really like the model posing and the blue.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753     27833446

  US cover / Belgian cover

Let me start by saying there is also a Belgian edition just like the American one and that this is a special edition they published. I love both covers. The simplicity of the American one and the simplicity and typography of the Belgian one. I do think I prefer the Belgian cover just a tad bit more.

 

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard; The sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

28319963   25909686   15724396

 Belgian cover /  UK cover / US cover

In this case I find the Belgian cover more aesthetically pleasing, but the American cover better fitting with the story. So I’m going to let the American cover win. The UK cover definitely comes last. I don’t  like that one at all. The orange, the typography,…

gsytdjn

 

The sky is everywhere by Jandy Nelson

26798618    6604794    23573399

 Belgian cover / UK cover / US cover

In this case, the Belgian cover is again my favourite. I really like it. The American cover comes next and the British one last. Again,

tumblr_ma4pe4cctq1r3ty02o1_500

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431   29922865

   US & UK cover / Belgian cover

I like the American edition waaaaaaay better. I don’t even know what the Belgian publishers were thinking when they changed that stunning cover. Don’t get me wrong, I do like the Belgian cover, it’s also pretty, but the American cover is just way better.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

18584855   32826931   32792134

US cover / UK cover / Belgian cover

I like the American cover best, although the Belgian cover is a bit more special. It is prettier in real life. Yet again the british cover is my least favourite.


Did you like this post? What are your favourites? Do you agree with me?

I have learned that I probably shouldn’t move to the UK haha.


See you next time!
Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

*I do not wish to offend anyone with my opinions. This is a very subjectieve matter, so there are a lot of different opinions. If I did offend you, I’m sorry.

16 thoughts on “Cover Wars

  1. I love looking at the various covers. Sometimes I’m jealous because someone has a better cover than me, but other times I’m relieved I have the cover I have. Some of them are really gorgeous and others… not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohh I love comparing covers too! I almost always prefer US covers though, they’re just generally prettier haha but there are some occasions in which the UK covers are prettier, or at least as pretty. In my country we usually get the UK covers though haha however, I despise the local cover (Indonesian) with my life. They’re just… too different from the original ones. They almost always have different vibes and to me most local covers look like children’s books instead of YA 😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love comparing covers too.if a boo has more then one cover I have to make sure I look at all of them before I chose one to buy. I know it’s crazy but i want one I like looking at :$
    The Belgian covers are so freaking beautiful. I especially LOVED Throne of Glass and the Rick Riordan one, they are amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent post! It was fun reading it!
    As for the covers, Russian cover of Ruby Red is actually the same as the Belgian. Still, I like American cover the most.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Mystery Blogger Award | Brilliantly bookish

  6. Pingback: January wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

