Review Numbers by Rachel Ward

Today I will be reviewing Numbers be Rachel Ward. I got this book as a Christmas present from my aunt (thank you!) and it was my first read of 2017. So without further ado, let’s get started.

6134776

Goodreads blurb:

Since her mother’s death, 15-year-old Jem has kept a secret. When her eyes meet someone else’s, a number pops into her head – the date on which they will die. Knowing that nothing lasts forever, Jem avoids relationships, but when she meets a boy called Spider, and they plan a day out together, her life takes a new twist and turn.

When I read the blurb on my (Dutch) copy I was really intrigued by the whole number thing. I was also intrigued by something that isn’t in the Goodreads blurb, but is on the back of the book. In the beginning of the story Jem and Spider are near the London eye when Jem suddenly notices that everyone around her has the same number, the number of that day. She freaks out and they run away. Then they witness the terrorist attack.

The book isn’t really what you call fast paced, it was more a character driven book. I did like the story though.

numbers-rachel-ward

Jem was an okay main character. I didn’t love her, but I didn’t hate her either. Instead I felt for her. Sometimes she was a bit too whiny for my taste. I liked Spider more. He was strong, independent, sweet and funny.

The ending was amazing. It made this book so much better. It wasn’t a very happy ending though, I cried. That is saying a lot, because I (almost) never cry while reading. I think this is the third book ever that actually made me shed tears, along with The book thief and TFIOS.

Overall I gave this book four out of five stars. I was going to give it three, but the ending really changed it for me.


Until next time!
Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

*The aesthetic is mine, but the photos I used aren’t. I don’t know who to credit though.
7 thoughts on “Review Numbers by Rachel Ward

  1. Pingback: December and January book haul | Brilliantly bookish

  2. Pingback: January wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: The Versatile blogger award + One lovely blogger award | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

