Review Shatter me series by Tahereh Mafi

This is a very well know and well-loved series. I know I’m really late on the bandwagon, so I’ll do this review a bit differently. I’ll keep it short and quickly say my thoughts. So without further ado, let’s jump right in.

shatter-me-series

Goodreads

13455782Shatter Me

3.5/5 stars

Tahereh Mafi’s writing is so stunning! I found myself immediately  rereading some paragraphs because they were so beautifully written. The plot wa exciting and it kept me entertained. It had a lot of plot twists. I liked the main character, Juliette, and I felt bad for her. I wanted her to be happy. Warner on the other had wasn’t my favourite. He was so cruel. Adam was okay. He wasn’t the best or most likeable character, but he made Juliette happy. I don’t think their relationship will last long, because in my opinion it was solely based on him being able to touch Juliette. It felt like insta – love. Kenji I found a bit annoying. Also, aren’t these covers stunning?

This review is spoiler free, however if you haven’t read Shatter me there will be spoilers for the book in the rest of this post and so on.

Destroy me

3/5 stars

I honestly thought I hated Warner. I never thought I would feel sympathy for him. But I was wrong. He has had a terrible youth and I kinda felt sorry for him. I enjoyed this novella, but not as much as the main books in this trilogy. Warner’s perspective was enjoyable, but I don’t think it’s necessary to read this.

Unravel me13104080

5/5 stars

I loved this book so much more than Shatter me. Mafi really stepped up her game. This novel was thrilling and it constantly kept me on the edge of my seat. The plot was fast – paced and had some twists and turns. This book made me opinions on the characters change completely. I was a bit annoyed by Juliette and the love triangle. I felt like she just had to make a decision. I love Warner now. I do admit he’s not in a good place and I don’t know if I really ship him and Juliette. I don’t like Adam. In the first book I was a bit unsure what to think of him, but after reading Unravel me I have made up my mind. I don’t like him. He is so negative and always in a bad mood. I really liked Kenji and his humour, way more than in the first book. He was very funny, but at the same time also a very strong character and James is still the cutest little fella.

Fracture me

2/5 stars

I didn’t like this novella because I don’t like Adam. His point of view annoyed me so much and that made me not enjoy this as much as I wanted to. I was nice to know what happened to everyone though.

13188676Ignite me

5/5 stars

OMG, this book was amazing! I loved it from the first page until the last. This is the best book in the entire series. Tahereh Mafi’s writing is still amazing and I love her metaphors. The plot was super fast – paced and full of plot twists. I loved Juliette in this book and Warner was amazing. He was such a great character. Sweet, strong, honest, hurt, emotional,… I loved him. I’m now so on board with him and Juliette, I shipped them so hard in this book. I also felt like the issues I had with the relationship between Adam and Juliette were talked about in this book and resolved. Adam even turned out okay in the end. James was also the cutest character, I liked him throughout this whole series. I loved Kenji in this book. He was so funny, real, kind and I good friend. At the same time he was also really hurt and I felt so bad for him. I was happy he was such a good friend and that he wasn’t anything romantic between him and Juliette. The only thing I wish is that the ending would be a bit longer. I felt like the last 50 pages or so where really rushed.


Those were my thoughts on this series. I hope they made sense. I would totally recommend this!

Until next time!
Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

3 thoughts on “Review Shatter me series by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Pingback: January wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

  2. Pingback: My favourite ships | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: The New Disney Princess Book Tag | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

