2016 Year in review book tag

I was tagged by the lovely Abby over at Miss Abigail to do this tag. Thank you! It was created by Farah over at A Booktube Book . So without further ado, let’s get started!

1. Trump vs. Clinton: Name is your favourite character rivalry.

I immediately thought of the rivalry between Adam and Warner from the Touching –  trilogy by Tahereh Mafi. I haven’t read the last book yet, but for now I’m on Team Warner. However, during Shatter me, I was on Team Adam. That’s why I like this rivalry, I’ve been on both sides.

2. Turkey Failed Coup: A book you started but failed to finish? DNF. 

I didn’t DNF any book this year. Can I get a Hell Yeah?

15879115_1840823782798372_447078397_n

3. Pokemon Go: What book did you buy or read based on the hype? Did you enjoy it?

I read a lot of books because of the hype. A lot. Some examples are: Shatter me, Cinder, Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children , a Thousand pieces of you, the raven boys, …. For the full list, you can take a look on my Goodreads.

4. Stranger Things: What’s one book you want everyone to read?

I want everyone to read Cinder by Marissa Meyer. This was My favourite book of the year, I loved it.

5. Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, Mr. Robot: What was your favourite book cliffhanger within a series?

The first book that comes to my mind is The house of Hades by Rick Riordan. My OTP was hanging on the edge of a cliff. literally.

6. The Tragic Crisis in Aleppo: Name the last book that made you cry or teary-eyed.

The book thief by Markus Zusak. This book hit me right in the feels. It made me cry and let me tell you, I almost never cry. Everyone needs to read this book, but luckily a lot of people already have.

7. Brexit: Name a book you have an unpopular opinion towards. 

I read The raven boys by Maggie Stiefvater a couple of months ago and I only gave it 3 out of 5 stars. I was bored for half of the book, but in the second half it got more interesting. Everyone seems to adore this book and I don’t get it.

15841887_1840833092797441_1584397728_n

8. Four new elements discovered in the periodic table: Name an author you discovered/read for the first time this year.

I discovered a ton of new authors this year. A Ton. Some examples are: Markus Zusak, Kiera Cass, Rachel Ward, Victoria Aveyard, Maggie Stiefvater, Marissa Meyer, Marieke Nijkamp, Tahereh Mafi, Claudia Gray, Jandy Nelson, Lisa Williamson, Anne Blankman, Ransom Riggs, etc.

9. #AllLivesMatter: Your favourite diverse read.

My favourite diverse read of this year was The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. The Percy Jackson series was very white, but now Riordan is really diversifying (is that a word?) his books. I really enjoyed the conclusion of his Heroes of Olympus series. The group of main characters is very diverse.

10. Zika Virus: A book that spread like wildfire.

When Empire of Storms came out, it was EVERYWHERE in the book community. I haven’t read the throne of glass series by Sarah J Maas yet, but I got the first book today, so I’ll get to it soon. I’ve heard tons and tons of great things about it.

11. Leonardo DiCaprio FINALLY won the Oscar: What was your most anticipated book release this year?

I’m going to go with the Crown by Kiera Cass. This was the first book I remember anticipating.

12. In Memorium: Name a memorable character death.

As I already mentioned The book thief by Markus Zusak hit me right in the feels. One of the reasons is a character death, but I wont tell you which one, because I don’t want to spoil you. Also this book is narrated by Death, which gives it an interesting perspective.

13. Samsung phones: One book that blew your mind this year!

There are so many, but I’m going to go with Red queen by Victoria Aveyard. . This book is one of my favourites of this year. I did not see that plot twist coming.


That’s it! I hope you enjoyed this post! I am tagging…

Callum@CallumMcLaughing

Ava@ReadsRhythmsAndRuminations

Kirsty@KirstyReadsBlog

Sofii@ABookAThought

If I didn’t tag you, but you want to do this tag too, consider yourself tagged!

Until next time!
Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

19 thoughts on “2016 Year in review book tag

  1. This was just as amazing as I expected it to be!
    I have a question about Cinder, have you tried to read Scarlet yet? I loved Cinder, like you, but just couldn’t get into Scarlet, I’m not sure what it was about it, but it just didn’t grip me the same way… should I power through? I need help!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Celebrating the little things tag | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: From Guestwriters 2016 in review | From guestwriters

  4. Pingback: 2016 Year In Review Book Tag – Reads,Rhythms and Ruminations

  5. Pingback: January wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

  6. Pingback: 2016 Year in Review Book Tag

Leave a Reply

