Review Cinder by Marissa Meyer

As I mentioned in one of my previous posts, one of my goals for 2017 is to keep up with my reviews. So I’m starting with this review. I LOVED this book. Since I’m a bit late on the bandwagon, I’m going to do this differently.

11235712

 Goodreads blurb:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

 

5c96e6ca-d6f2-42cd-9f6b-a819fb924aaa

I loved Cinder. She is such an amazing main character! I felt for her and I rooted for her. I understood her.

Cinder.jpg

I loved Kai. He is so sweet and strong! He is so hurt by his father’s dead and I love how he treats Cinder.

I loved the plot. It was fast-paced, exciting, thrilling, romantic, sad, funny,….. All at the same time! I couldn’t put this book down.

tumblr_nouocfswd41u48x6vo1_500

me

I loved Iko! She was such a funny and sweet character. I was really sad when that thing happened. I can’t tell you because *spoilers* but if you’ve read the book, you know what I’m talking about.

I liked the way Marissa Meyer executed the retelling. It was fun seeing how she used the different elements.

I liked the romance between Cinder and Kai. It was so cute.

2c604868-8db6-47ec-9ba3-685e3f30b1a9

I hated Queen Levana, Sybil, Adri and Pearl, but you’re meant to hate them.They are the bad characters and Oh boy, did I hate them. At some points I was so frustrated I wanted to throw the book. But then I would get damaged and we can’t have that. Can’t we?

8b1e9e65-f947-4134-9b04-8c2b99bc1538

Overall I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars, but you’ve probably already guessed that. I read this book twice, first in Dutch and then in English, and I still really loved it the second time, even though I already knew what was coming. This book quickly became one of my favourites. I can’t wait to start Scarlet, but first I have to wait untill it arrives. *distant sobbing*

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post! See you next time! Happy new year!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: December wrap up | Brilliantly bookish

  2. Pingback: 2016 Year in review book tag | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: December and January book haul | Brilliantly bookish

  4. Pingback: The Versatile blogger award + One lovely blogger award | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

