Some goals for 2017

The end of the year is now really getting close, Christmas has passed and there are only two days left. To be honest I’m kinda happy 2016 will be over soon. It wasn’t a very good year, both worldwide as for me personally, but I want to focus on the positives. In a way 2016 was an awesome year for me; I discovered the book community and I met my best friend this year! So on the more positive side, I want to set myself some goals for next year. Here are 10 of them.

1. I want to read 60 books in 2017.

This is an easy goal to set, I will track it on my Goodreads. I wasn’t sure on how many books I wanted my goal to be, because I don’t really have a reading pattern. Ultimately I decided on 60 books. I think this is a goal I can reach without stressing out. I want to be able to read all the books I want, including bigger books. I would find it a shame if I couldn’t pick up some bigger books or else I wouldn’t reach my – to high – reading goal. So I’m now comfortable with 60 books. Let’s see how it goes!

2. I want to find my own touch.

I’m talking about this blog, my bookstagram account ( @brilliantly_bookish_ ), my reviews on Goodreads,… I have found some bits and pieces about what makes my work mine, but I hope to expand my knowledge some more in 2017. I want to find my own style, what fits perfectly with me and all that jazz.

3. I want to really work on my blog.

Talking about my blog. I really want to put work in it in 2017. Not that I don’t do that already, but I would like to build further on what I’ve done by now. It feels like I’m still experimenting on what suits me and what I really want to do with this blog and I hope I can continue that search in the upcoming year.

4. I want to read more diverse.

Diversity is really important. Representation is really important. I think you can learn a lot from reading and thinking through the eyes of someone with a different religion, skin color, sexual orientation, cultural background, health, social status,… That’s why I made it a goal to read more diverse in 2017. I have started to do this already – it seemed silly to wait for the first of january to start doing this – and I hope I can continue opening my eyes to new things.

jhvb-hbgjvkctyudchgv-2

*not my art*

5. I want to think positive.

This one isn’t really book related, but I wanted to include it anyway, because I think it’s important. In the past year I’ve realised how much positive thinking can change you’re life. It is just a mindset you know. I know it can feel like your life is awful, that you can’t be positive because life is just to negative. I’ve been there myself. But this isn’t true. This year life threw some curveballs at me, but at the same time this was the year I really started to make some positive changes in my mindset. It makes everything so much easier if you look at it with a positive mindset. I still have times where I feel like everything is going wrong, but – as hard as it sounds – you have to take a deep breath, pick yourself up and go on. Both IISUPERWOMANII (link )  and HumbleThePoet ( link )  are wonderful inspirations to me, I suggest you check them out! I want to continue this way of thinking in 2017.

largeyljfvhjn   humble-the-poet-2

6. I want to read the books on my TBR.

I’ve already made a post about 16 books that are high on my 2017 TBR. I will link it here.

7. I want to keep my bookmark collection under control.

Nevermind. Who am I kidding? I love them to much…

13652484_10210173820330282_1133358527_n

*When I see a beautiful bookmark

8. I want to inspire.

This goes together with goal #5. I want to spread positivity. I want to spread love for books. I want to spread diversity. I want to spread love instead of hate for people who are different then you. Maybe I can’t effect the whole world, but I will be happy if I can effect even one person.

9. I want to let go of anger towards some people.

djhfgcWe’ve all been there backstabbed, lied to, hurt, with a lot of anger towards some people. You may still hold a grudge towards them, you may still be angry at them. I know I still am. But you know what? Anger and grudges aint gonna get you anywhere. There are some people I used to call friends, some people who hurt me, but they don’t care. They live their lives, not thinking a second about me or how I feel and you know what? I can say here that I don’t care, but that’s not true, I do. But the thing is, if I don’t tell them, if I don’t scream at them or hurt them, they wont know I’m still hurt. They wont know and they wont care. To be honest I’m not the kind of person that takes revenge and I don’t want to be either, so instead of sitting here holding a grudge, I think it’s time to let go. It’s time to let go of my anger and sadness, to except the past and just move on. Because at the end of the day it shouldn’t matter that they were jerks. At the end of the day it’s not your problem.

10. I want to step up my reviews.

I really want to review more of the books I read. I notice I keep putting it of. So much that at some point I don’t even remember what I wanted to say. That should change I think.


And that’s it! These are ten of my goals for 2017. As cliché as it sounds, I hope this will be an awesome year! This post got a bit more real then usually and I hope you enjoyed it or maybe even got some advice. See you next time!

Love,

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

4 thoughts on “Some goals for 2017

Leave a Reply

