16 books I really want to read in 2017

This is another post in my ’16 things’ series where I look back on 2016 and start ‘planning’ for 2017. Today I’m going to talk about 16 books on my TBR for 2017. These books have already been released and I’m looking forward to picking them up as soon as I can!

Afbeelding1.png

1. The hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #2)

27904311

Goodreads

I love Rick Riordan and everything he writes. His books are diverse, funny and action-packed and I love the mythology. I’ve already read the first book and I really liked it. I would’ve read The hammer of Thor by now if I weren’t waiting for the Dutch translation. For several reasons I like Riordan’s books better in Dutch. Anyway, the translated version is coming out in January, so I’ll be picking this book up soon.

2. Shatter me series by Tahereh Mafi

I’ve already read Shatter me and Destroy me, a short story from Warner’s point of view, and I really like those. I want to finish this series in 2017.

3. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer11235712

Goodreads

I’m currently reading the first book, Cinder and I LOVE it! It’s so amazing! It’s fast-paced, funny, sad, romantic, action-packed, etc. All at the same time! I’m about 3/4 into this book and I can already say I would definitely recommend it! Needless to say, I want to pick up the rest of this series. I’ve heard the books even get better and I’m so excited to read them.

4. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads

I haven’t  read this series. I know what you’re thinking.

received_1830591483821602

I’m probably the only reader that likes YA fantasy that hasn’t read this series… But I’m planning to change that in 2017. Almost everyone likes these books, but there are so many by now and that’s why I’ve been a bit hesitant.

157491865. To all the boys I’ve loved before by Jenny Han

Goodreads

This well-loved contemporary trilogy has been on my ‘to read’ list on Goodreads for quite a while, but for some reason I never picked it up. With the final book coming out next year I decided that should change.

6. A court of thorns and roses by Sarah J. Maas

Goodreads

This is another very hyped fantasy series I have yet to pick up. To be fair, I’ve only know about it since September and I only discovered my love for fantasy recently. This beauty and the beast retelling sounds interesting and I’m excited to pick up this series, especially with the next book coming out in 2017.

7. the Firebird trilogy by Claudia Gray17234658

Goodreads

I read the first book ‘A Thousand pieces of you’ in August and I actually really liked it. This book has been getting a lot of mixed reviews, but I’m one of those people who enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to reading the next books in this trilogy (?). Also, those covers are just so gorgeous!

8. Six of crows by Leigh Bardugo

Goodreads

Yet again this is a very well-loved fantasy novel that I haven’t read. It’s becoming a bit of a trend, right? I haven’t heard anyone that didn’t like this book, but I’ve been hesitant to read it because some people say you have to read the Grisha trilogy first and I’m not really interested in those books. What do you think? Should I read the Grisha trilogy first of should I just read Six of Crows?

195478569. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens agenda by Becky Albertalli

Goodreads

The synopsis of this book intrigued me and it has tons of good reviews on Goodreads, so I decided to add it to this list. I think I’m probably going to read this book in spring or summer, just because it’s a contemporary and I’m not really in the mood for contemporary in fall or the winter.

10. Not if I see you first by Eric Lindstrom

Goodreads

This contemporary intrigued me because it’s about a blind girl. I want to read more diverse next year and I think this is a good book to do so. This book has been getting a lot of mixed reviews, some people loved it, some people hated it. I hope I’ll love it.

11. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Goodreads

This is another very well-loved YA book that I haven’t picked up. I am intrigued by it though. The format looks really cool and I haven’t heard anyone speak bad about this book. I was hesitant at first, because I didn’t know if I really liked sci-fi. To be honest I still don’t know if I do, but I figured this would be a good place to start.

12. Whisper to me by Nick Lake26030238

Goodreads

I just came across this book and I would love to read it. It deals with some difficult issues. I don’t know which exactly, because it doesn’t say in the synopsis. I guess it’s a spoiler. This book is written in letter form and I haven’t read these kinds of books, but I’m open to trying it. This book has lots of great reviews and not to be shallow or anything, but that cover is so pretty!

13. Highly illogical behaviour by John Corey Whaley

Goodreads

This is another contemporary I came across fairly recent. It deals with agoraphobia. I’ve heard great things about this book, some of these reviews coming from readers who has anxiety themselves. This is always a very positive thing and I like to know if a book is correct in the way of portraying the characters.

2777475814. An ember in the ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Goodreads

This YA fantasy / dystopian is inspired by ancient Rome. I’m really interested is this time period (I’m studying Latin and Ancient Greek.), in YA and in fantasy, so this seemed like the perfect book for me. To be honest I don’t really know more about this book than this, but nonetheless this is on my 2017 TBR.

15. Since you’ve been gone by Morgan Matson

Goodreads

I came across this book in the middle of fall and I really like the premise, but I’m the kind of reader that mostly reads contemporary in summer and fantasy and historical fiction in fall/winter. I just can’t really get into the book if I do it differently. So I decided not to make the same mistake of reading a contemporary in the cold seasons again and I put this book on my TBR. I want to read it this summer.

16. The rest of us just live here by Patrick Ness

Goodreads

I want to read this book because I had the same idea when I was thinking about writing a novel, but I wasn’t sure how to execute it. Then I found out Patrick Ness has done it and I’m quite curious how he did it. Talking about Patrick Ness, I think I might also read A monster calls.

And that’s today’s 16 things! I enjoyed writing this post, hope you enjoyed reading it. See you next time!

Love

252dfa8e-2a29-45c0-ade1-8d5a6e27c18b

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “16 books I really want to read in 2017

  1. Pingback: Some goals for 2017 | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

