November wrap up

This month I read a total of nine books. For me, that’s a lot. Normally I read an average of six books a month. However, this month I had a lot of free time, so I read a lot and I am really happy about it. These are the books I read in November:

1. Amy & Roger’s epic detour by Morgan Matson

Goodreads

I started the month with this book and I must say that I enjoyed it. It was a nice contemporary and I liked the characters. I just wish I waited to read this book untill summer. Ultimately I gave it 3 out of 5 stars.

img_20161101_2139312. The Raven boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Goodreads

I was disappointed by this book. Everyone seems to love it, but I was just so bored in the first half of this book. It took 5 days for me to get halfway through. Then it got interesting. I do plan to pick up the rest of this series, because I hope things will get better. I gave this book 3 out of five stars.

3. Hollow city by Ransom Riggs15216126_1822407054640045_521437036_o.jpg

Goodreads    –     My Review

I really enjoyed this book. I liked the plot as well as the characters and I didn’t see that plot twist coming. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. For a more detailed review, you can read my review of the full trilogy.

4. Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

Goodreads     –    My review

I really liked this book. I constantly kept me on the edge of my seat. I liked how this trilogy wrapped up and I would definitely recommend the entire trilogy. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

5. Red queen by Victoria Aveyard

Goodreads

I loved this book! I read it for the first time in September and  it quickly became one of my favourites. For this reason I decided to buy this book as well as the sequel Glass sword which I’m currently reading. I re-read the book and I still love it. As you might have guessed, I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

img_20161119_135456-26. Destroy me by Tahereh Mafi

Goodreads

Next I read this book and I liked it. While reading Shatter me I really didn’t like Warner and I was team Adam all the way. But now I kinda like him. I’ve grown some sympathy for him. I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars.

7. The art of being normal by Lisa Williamson

Goodreads

I picked up this book because of the diversity. It was the first book I’ve read with a transgender main character. I’ve been wanting to read as diverse as I can lately.  I liked the book, but unfortunately not as much as I expected. I would recommend it though, because of the diversity.  I gave it 3.5 out of 5 stars.

8. Prisoner of night and fog by Anne Blankmanafbeelding1

Goodreads   –   My review

I enjoyed this book. It had a slow beginning, but then I really got interesting. I liked the characters and the plot and I would definitely recommend it. It made me think about the situation of the Germans in the second world war. I already knew a lot on the topic, but still I learned from this book and I really like when that happens.

9. This is where it ends by Marieke Nijkamp

I flew through this book, I could not put it down. It was very plot driven and thrilling, but at the same time it was also character driven. Although this book has been getting a lot of mixed reviews, I loved it. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars. The only weird thing about it is that it is originally written in English by a Dutch author and then it was translated to Dutch by someone else. I don’t have a problem with this or anything, I just think it is a bit weird.Also I just want to quickly mention that I think the Dutch title is cooler. It’s 54 minuten which translates to 54 minutes and I think that is very fitting.

Last but not least, I’m currently reading Glass sword by Victoria Aveyard and I thought I’d mention it.

Hope you enjoyed this post!
Love,
Eva

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

