November haul

This month I got five new books. That’s a lot to my standards and I’m excited to tell you what those books are. So without further ado, let’s do this!

img_20161128_094556-2

the beginning of the month I went to the Antwerp Book Fair and there I bought four books.

15060368_1819324611614956_850760514_o1. Red queen by Victoria Aveyard

Goodreads

My review

The first time I read this book I lent it from the library and I loved it. I didn’t expect to really like and to be honest I just picked it up because of the cover, but then I read it and it quickly became one of my favourites. So I decided I had to own it myself. As you probably have guessed, I gave this book 5 out of five stars.

 

2. Glass sword by Victoria Aveyardimg_20161128_110521

Goodreads

As I already knew that I loved the first book, I decided to also get the sequel Glass sword. I’m currently reading this book, but I’m only 50 pages in at the moment, so I can’t really say if I like it or not.

3. Dumplin’ by  Julie Murphy

Goodreads

I was browsing the books and when I read this synopsis I was intrigued. I’ve been looking for some feminist books for a while, so I bought this book and I very happy I have it now. I’m hoping to get on to reading it soon.

img_20161128_1102144. The art of being normal by Lisa Williamson

Goodreads

I picked up this book because I’m trying to read more diverse. This was the first book I’ve ever read with a transgender main character and I’m happy I did. I really liked the diversity, but the story itself wasn’t amazing, so I gave this book 3.5 out of 5 stars. I wanted to like this book more, but unfortunately I didn’t. It was a very quick read though.

 

And  last but definitely not least my aunt gave me a book as a gift. Huge thanks to her for getting me this book, because I really wanted to read it.

5. This is where it ends by Marieke Nijkampimg_20161128_110126

Goodreads

This book has been getting a lot of mixed reviews. A lot of people like it and a lot of people don’t. I flew through this book, I couldn’t put it down. It was thrilling and I really appreciated the diversity. Two of the main characters are queer females, two of the main characters are Hispanic and there are a lot of other PoC characters. I gave this book five out of five stars. Also, if you’re wondering, the Dutch title of this book is 54 minuten which translates to 54 minutes.

 

 


I just quickly want to mention that I also lent a lot of books from the library this month. I wont go into much detail, but here is a list:

  • Amy & Roger’s epic detour by Morgan Matson
  • The Raven boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Hollow city by Ransom Riggs
  • Library of souls by Ransom Riggs
  • Destroy me by Tahereh Mafi
  • Prisoner of night and fog by Anne Blankman
  • Unravel me by Tahereh Mafi
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • Fracture me by Tahereh Mafi

I hope you enjoyed this post! I’ll post my November wrap-up soon. Untill next time!

Love,
Eva

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

