Review Red queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Today is Mare Barrows birthday, so it felt like the perfect time to review this book!

boy-birthdayHappy birthday, Mare!

5-starsGoodreads blurb:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.
The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.
That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.
Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.
But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart
.

why this book.pngI was in the library and I had enough books to read, but I wanted to pick up some extra for bookstagram pics. The cover caught my attention so I took the book with me and later on when I finished all of the other books I brought with me I decided to give it a shot.

coverSay what you want, but I do judge a book by its cover. It’s the first thing to catch your attention. As I already mentioned I really like the cover.

15060368_1819324611614956_850760514_o

plotI really enjoyed the plot. It was fast-paced, entertaining and full of plot twists. I just kept turning the pages, I couldn’t stop. And man, I did NOT see those plot twists coming. In the beginning of the story Mare is poor, but she has red blood so that’s very normal. She steals for a living untill she meets this stranger who gets her a job in the palace. He turns out to be the heir of the crown and he’s a silverblood. Suddenly Mare finds out she can control lightning, a silver ability . To cover it up from the public the Silvers decide to make her a princess. She is now engaged to prince Maven. In the meanwhile there’s an attack on the palace by a red terrorist group. That’s were the story takes of.

You should know there is a love triangle in this book, but I didn’t mind. It kinda made sense.

charactersThe story is told from a first person POV, Mare’s POV. I really liked her character. She wants the best for people and is really badass. She was a bit reckless at times though and she me a lot of rash important decisions. But she had character development and I really rooted for her throughout the story.

Then there’s Cal. He is the heir of the crown and also the stranger Mare met in the forest. I also liked him, he was nice to Mare even when she wasn’t always nice to him. He’s a fan of violence when he believes it is necessairy. This threw mare of, but he’s a good person.

There’s also Maven, Cal brother. In the beginning of the story he and Mare get engaged. They both don’t want this, but Maven has to listen to his father and Mare would be killed if she didn’t cooperate. Maven is very sweet, but deep down he’s also really hurt, because of his upbringing. He’s such a sweet cinnamon roll.

the-endingI loved the ending. As I have said multiple times now, there was this HUGE plot twist and I was totally taking by suprise. It made me really hate a certain character.

overallOverall I gave this book a five out of five stars. It quikly has become one of my favourites. I would recommend it any day to anyone. In my opinion this book deserves all of the good reviews and ratings it as gotten. I wasn’t expecting to love it so much, but I did and I love when books pleasantly suprise you like that. I already have Glass sword in my hands and I can’t wait to start it!

Now let’s all get some cake to celebrate Mare’s  birthday!

linda-belcher-cake

Love,
Eva

4 thoughts on “Review Red queen by Victoria Aveyard.

  1. Pingback: November haul | Brilliantly bookish

  2. Pingback: 16 bookish things about me | Brilliantly bookish

  3. Pingback: My favourite books of 2016 | Brilliantly bookish

  4. Pingback: 2016 Year in review book tag | Brilliantly bookish

Leave a Reply

